Author Topic: Set file exclusion via command line  (Read 9749 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nn_available

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Set file exclusion via command line
« on: August 09, 2006, 02:37:39 PM »
Hi all,

i think this is an easy one, but i wasnt able to find the answer yet. How would i set file or directory exclusions from the command line?

Thanks a lot

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85567
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2006, 02:56:54 PM »
As far as I'm aware you can't, you have to use the GUI and unfortunately add them there. The only command line function I believe is in the pro version, but looking at the avast help file for ashCmd Program, there is noting there about setting exclusions.

I don't know where the exclusions are stored so probably not able to hack the file and add exclusions there.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2006, 04:19:43 PM »
Hi all, i think this is an easy one, but i wasnt able to find the answer yet. How would i set file or directory exclusions from the command line?
Are you refering to on-demmand or on-access scanning?
Are you using the trial (or Pro) version?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11803
    • AVAST Software
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2006, 04:24:27 PM »
Well, it actually doesn't matter - the exclusions cannot be set by command-line, no matter if it's for on-demand or on-access scanner.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2006, 04:31:37 PM »
Well, it actually doesn't matter - the exclusions cannot be set by command-line, no matter if it's for on-demand or on-access scanner.
I could make an script (run by command-line) to add it to avast4.ini file  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85567
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2006, 04:56:53 PM »
What are you trying to add to the avast4.ini ?
There are no exclusions in the avast4.ini, certainly none of my exclusions are in it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2006, 05:32:38 PM »
What are you trying to add to the avast4.ini ?
There are no exclusions in the avast4.ini, certainly none of my exclusions are in it.
[Common]
Exclude=
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=1647.msg10256#msg10256
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85567
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2006, 06:17:38 PM »
Thanks for that.
Where are the exclusions stored for the Standard Shield and Program Settings, Exclusions ?
To me it seems strange to have them in two different locations, not to mention any overhead checking two locations for exclusions for an on-access scanner. Not so much of an issue for on-demand, are these avast4.ini exclude settings global ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2006, 07:28:58 PM »
Where are the exclusions stored for the Standard Shield and Program Settings
For the other providers (on-demmand scanning): avast4.ini file, section [Common], value Exclusions.
For the Standard Shield provider (on-access scanning): maybe some place into <avast>\DATA\Avast4.db file, the 'storage' of settings and sessions.

Maybe this is due to necessary different storages for Home and Pro versions, I mean, seems that you 'must' keep the storage this way or the Home version will store sessions and this is only 'available' in the Pro version.
This is a total guess  ;D

Edited... I was wrong and, at the night, dreaming, I remember what Igor posted... So I correct my post now.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2006, 07:44:27 PM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11803
    • AVAST Software
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2006, 05:09:14 PM »
OK, it's new to me, but the .ini file really contains a list of exclusions - in particular, the global exclusions for the on-demand scanner.
The exclusions for the resident protection, as well as for the other tasks (as defined in the Enhanced User Interface), are stored in avast! database.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85567
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2006, 05:37:08 PM »
Well I have two exclusions set-up in Program Settings, Exclusions and neither of those are recorded in the ini file. I don't know if this is different I use the home version.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.680) UI 1.0.660/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2006, 07:46:10 PM »
OK, it's new to me
Realy?
Maybe a 'official' review about the avast4.ini file thread won't be bad...
Finally I could 'teach' something to our guru Igor  ;D  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11803
    • AVAST Software
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2006, 12:21:17 AM »
I certainly don't know every little detail about every part of the program ;)
I just somehow supposed that all the exclusions are stored in the database... seems they're not.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Set file exclusion via command line
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2006, 03:22:35 AM »
I certainly don't know every little detail about every part of the program ;)
Sure, it was a joke as you've realised  ;)

But, comming back to that idea, won't be bad if we have a full avast4.ini file released some day, without secrets  :)
The best things in life are free.