Author Topic: No Web/Email access when avast is on  (Read 7425 times)

bearmed

No Web/Email access when avast is on
« on: February 25, 2006, 11:53:16 PM »
I am new to Avast and to this forum and I couldn't find no answer to my problem via search.

System: Win XP SP2
I installed avast 4.6 Home edition (updated both program and base). When I turn on Web Shield I can't open any site in my Opera browser (8.52 for Win) - even avast.com
When I turn on Internet Mail - my mail program (The Bat) can't connect to any of the servers to check mail. The (a) in the tray is not spinning.
When I turn those off everything works fine - both Opera and The Bat function the way they should. I was looking to the settings and changing them, but to no effect.

liljoe

Re: No Web/Email access when avast is on
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2006, 02:36:01 AM »
do you have zone alarm or any other firewall installed that might be blocking outgoing access?

bearmed

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2006, 02:43:34 AM »
do you have zone alarm or any other firewall installed that might be blocking outgoing access?

Nope. It is clean Windows XP SP2 with its firewall turned off. And neither incoming nor outgoing of mail is working.

Offline alanrf

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • Just an avast user
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2006, 03:01:06 AM »
bearmed,

welcome to the avast forum.

Let me first give you our standard warning that running without a firewall is like leaving home with all the windows and doors wide open ... come one, come all.

Moving on to your immediate problem ... I know you said this is a clean Windows XP SP2 system ... but (there's always a but) did you install any other antivirus software (even if you uninstalled it) before you installed avast?

bearmed

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2006, 04:34:54 AM »
bearmed,

welcome to the avast forum.
thank you