Author Topic: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)  (Read 3177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2226
When connecting to another network, the Firewall doesn't give me the popup any more to decide between Private and Public.

Looking at the Firewall settings, it's making them public by default. See Screenshot - that's default.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 05:17:05 PM by Alikhan »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline lukor

  • Moderator
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1857
    • AVAST Software
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 06:02:08 PM »
Hi Alikhan,
this type of profiles (with (Adapter)) are only used when we failed to detect any "network" on it - such as at least a gateway. Not sure if in this case we want to show the popup. Let me verify that with the team.

Are you really connected to a live wifi?

thanks.
Lukor

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2226
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2017, 06:15:20 PM »
Hi,

I am really connected to a live wifi.

I've just created a video showing the issue : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gtyv1SshBqM

The issue is sometimes it is showing (with (Adapter)) and going to public mode and sometimes as shown in the video showing the actual network name and still going to public mode.

I am not having this issue on the stable version.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2017, 06:17:31 PM by Alikhan »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline Zdenek

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2017, 09:52:18 PM »
Hi Alikhan.

What I can see on the video, It can be Issue.

Please can you provide to us content of the log folder and FW folder?

"c:\Users\All Users\AVAST Software\Avast\log"

"c:\Users\All Users\AVAST Software\Avast\fw"

It can give to us better picture what's going on.

Thank you

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2226
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2017, 09:58:48 PM »
The forum isn't allowing me to send zip/rar files of the two folders.

Shall I upload it to a file sharing site and send the link or what?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 62920
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.1.2397.BC [UI.460] - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.5 - ASB/ASL.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2226
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2017, 10:12:06 PM »
See: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB160

Thanks, I forgot about that.

I've sent both folders into the incoming folder via FTP named "Alikhan log" and "Alikhan fw".
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Internet Security (latest stable version) • Malwarebytes 3 Premium (latest) • Google Chrome • CCleaner •

Offline Zdenek

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: [2283] Bug in Firewall (No popups when connecting to different networks)
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2017, 11:11:13 PM »
Thank you.
I'll take look on it ASAP.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 62920
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.1.2397.BC [UI.460] - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.5 - ASB/ASL.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0