Author Topic: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??  (Read 3326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
"Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« on: February 19, 2017, 04:55:37 PM »
Avast Free found a "virus" in my overnight scan, and it has been placed in the chest. Right clicking on the file (in the chest) shows "Submit to Virus Lab" as an option. However, when I select this option, nothing happens. Is there supposed to be some type of notification that the file has been sent? Any way I can check to see if it has been sent? I don't expect an immediate response from the lab, but would be good to at least know it was, in fact, sent.

Thanks!
Dave

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37012
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2017, 04:59:17 PM »
Avast Antivirus: Using the Virus Chest  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB21#artTitle

Video  >>  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB149#artTitle


Why are you sending it to the lab?


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2017, 05:03:00 PM »
The file is normally uploaded when the next VPS update occurs, there is normally a notification to that effect when you select Submit to Virus Lab.

Try a manual virus definitions update and watch closely you should see it being uploaded.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2017, 05:19:35 PM »
Thanks for the reply Pondus.
Submitted the file because it is mbam.exe - one of the executables for Malwarebytes. Have had this program for years, and suspect it could be a false positive. It is in the correct directory, but wanted to confirm the status before I take it out of quarantine.

Thanks
Dave

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37012
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2017, 05:21:57 PM »
OK 

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2017, 05:30:01 PM »
Thanks DavidR. Appreciate the reply!

Dave

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2017, 06:17:46 PM »
You're welcome.

Periodically scan the file from within the virus chest, so you know if it has been cleared as an FP. You can then restore it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2017, 09:58:31 PM »
Any rough idea how long it takes the lab to check a submission? In my "chest", the "Submit Time" cell is empty, so I have doubts that the file was ever actually submitted. "Submit to Virus Lab..." is an option from right-clicking the file, but using it doesn't appear to actually accomplish anything.

Is "Submit" disabled in the free version, or am I doing something wrong? Everything else seems to be working fine.

Thanks
Dave

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2017, 10:06:48 PM »
Sorry I don't have an estimate, I just check the file in the chest periodically to see if it is no longer detected.

As I said before:
"The file is normally uploaded when the next VPS update occurs, there is normally a notification to that effect when you select Submit to Virus Lab."

So you don't see any reaction immediately.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2017, 10:56:04 PM »
Thanks again DavidR. Any other file I probably wouldn't worry about - just delete it. But as this is part of my anti malware suite, it makes me just a little nervous.
Will be patient & see what happens!
thanks

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84910
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2017, 11:59:44 PM »
Depending on what the anti-malware suite is some files/actions could be considered suspect.

I know it is mbam.exe, but what version of MBAM are you using, what was the alert (malware name) and location ?

I have actually fired up my old 2.2.1.1043 version of MalwareBytes Anti-Malware and no alert on mbam.exe. I tend not to have it enabled to run on startup, just running a right click scan of a file.

I have stayed away from MBAM 3.0 I have a lifetime license but I just don't like the direction MBAM is going (now more of an AV) and I found mbam is getting progressively more bloated.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37012
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2017, 01:06:41 AM »

Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2017, 01:14:47 AM »
I'm using vers. 3.0.4, and like you, I don't leave it running. I also have the lifetime license. I run a complete scan with it and Avast one night per week.
I named the wrong file when I originally posted. It actually is mbam-setup.exe. Avast reports it as "Win32:DH".
I did consider the fact that one AV checking another might be the issue, but have had MB and Avast for quite a while together with no reports. Almost any other file I would just delete and not give it a second thought.
Just got an update to Avast & still nothing showing for "Submit Time".
Not going to worry about it for now. It's in the chest and isn't going to hurt anything for a while. If it clears I'll restore it. If not I'll cross that bridge when I get to it.
Thanks

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37012
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2017, 01:18:08 AM »
Quote
Avast reports it as "Win32:DH".
Did you read the topic i gave link to?  specific last post (from avast team) in that topic


Offline Doc16743

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: "Submit to Virus Lab" working in 17.1.2286??
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2017, 01:21:05 AM »
Pondus, I think you nailed it! I may just restore the file in a day or two and rescan.
Many thanks, all!