Author Topic: Please HELP : Avast UI process (AvastUI.exe) is currently not running  (Read 15260 times)

REDACTED

I've been using Avast for many years without problems but when I turned the computer on this morning, Avast did not show up in the tray and I've tried several approaches and have not solved the problem:

Symptoms:
It was fine yesterday, as I did turn the Avast VPN on in the afternoon.
The Avast licenses are valid.
Today Avast does not show in the tray.
Avast is in the boot list
Processes  "Avast firewall service (32 bits)" ,  "Avast Service (32 bits)" and "Avast! Identity Protection Service"  are running
If I try to scan a file, a message pops up saying: "Avast UI process (AvastUI.exe) is currently not running. Please run the application before starting a scan"
If I try to run AvastUI.exe from the Avast folder, Windows says the file cannot be accessed (I am the administrator and only user of this PC)

I've already tried:
Repair - runs but does not solve the problem
Update - runs but does not solve the problem
Modity - but does not finish - says it encountered an error
Uninstall - but does not finish - says it encountered an error

Any help would be much appreciated.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Please HELP : Avast UI process (AvastUI.exe) is currently not running
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 11:23:51 PM »
Sounds like something that is already solved in the latest Beta.

REDACTED

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 02:54:51 AM »
How do I get this Beta?

I downloaded the standard install executable (avast_free_antivirus_setup_online_cnet2.exe), but when I try to execute it, I get the same error as executing AvastUI.exe (Windows says the file cannot be accessed).

(Not to mention that I don't seem to be able to uninstall the current version)

REDACTED

« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2017, 12:08:20 PM »
Thanks.

But unfortunately i ran into a new problem.