Author Topic: Corrupted 'Delete' button?! VBS:Malware-gen on a Mac?!  (Read 1958 times)

REDACTED

Corrupted 'Delete' button?! VBS:Malware-gen on a Mac?!
« on: February 23, 2017, 12:24:28 AM »
I am a Macbook Pro user. OS X El Capitan current operating system.
Yesterday afternoon, the Avast Mac Security 2016 notified me that 2 infections were blocked, and my internet program wasn't even open. They immediately went to the chest, as should be the case. However, when I did a system scan, it found some 25 or 50 infected files. After sending those files to the chest, I re-scanned, and it found 80 more infected files. After sending THOSE files to the chest, the numbers finally decreased. I got 31, and then I got 25, then 12... all to the chest.

The next day, I scanned again. This time, it found 51 infected files and 22 unable to scan. I sent them to the chest. Then it blocked four random viruses, all of them were VBS:Malware-gen and all were in my AvidAppManHelper ... whatever that is. I have Avid Media Composer, and it seemed that was what the virus attempted to attack first, because most of the first infected files were in its application files.
After scanning a few more times, it found first 12 infected and 1 unable to scan, then 16 infected and 21 unable to scan.
This came as no surprise to me since I learned that 'worm' viruses will navigate randomly throughout the system, and looking at the locations of the infections, it is quite clear that it is following a random path since every four files are from relatively the same locations.
I decided at this point that I should delete some of the infected files. Practically EVERY '.dmg' file was infected (everything else was .data, .dat, .bf-head, .bf-tail, .index and the like), and since the software for each was already installed, I decided it was okay to remove them.