Author Topic: Browsers say Avast not running  (Read 3367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Browsers say Avast not running
« on: February 24, 2017, 09:28:54 PM »
I have Avast passwords running and open yet neither Chrome nor Safari recognize it.  I get a message that Avast Passwords is not running yet it is.  Any ideas?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31483
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2017, 10:11:06 PM »
According to the FAQ, MAC is not supported.
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB254

But yet avast just released a version on 30 January ???
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=196032.0
« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 10:12:48 PM by Eddy »

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2017, 10:24:37 PM »
This company is a joke. 

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31483
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2017, 10:32:17 PM »
If it was, they wouldn't have 400m users.

What version of OS X are you running and what version of passwords do you have installed ?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 10:41:04 PM by Eddy »

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2017, 09:10:10 PM »
I downloaded the latest version I found 1.4.2203  This is what the website directed me to download.  Not only that but I paid for a license only to find that I don't need a license.  Too many contradictions and no support other than this forum. 

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49512
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2017, 09:24:59 PM »
I downloaded the latest version I found 1.4.2203  This is what the website directed me to download.  Not only that but I paid for a license only to find that I don't need a license.  Too many contradictions and no support other than this forum.
Contact support: https://support.avast.com/support/tickets/new
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2321.Beta#3 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2017, 10:24:19 PM »
I already have two support tickets but have yet to have any response.  I also placed a phone call and left a message but have yet to receive any response.  Avast customer service is essentially non-existent.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3610
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2017, 10:29:21 PM »
Please post your Ticket ID, than we can put it forward.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS  Real TimeAIS  WinPatrol Plus  Unchecky  MCShield  HOSTS File : MVPS + MDL  On Demand: MBAM  SUMo  Backup: Win 7 Image  Proxy: ASL  VPN  Socks 5  Tor

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2017, 01:33:46 AM »
727869

Please note that while I can open the app the "avast passwords" part of the dropdown when I click on the key at the top of my desktop is greyed out and I have found no way to fix that.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49512
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2017, 09:12:56 AM »
Hi, I reported it for you.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2321.Beta#3 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline jimilagro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2017, 07:18:41 PM »
Thank you!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49512
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2017, 05:16:24 AM »
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2321.Beta#3 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline yadaom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2017, 04:59:45 AM »
Hi,
From last two days, my Avast Password Chrome extension is complaining "Avast Password is not running". But actually it is running.
I have reinstalled the extension in chrome, but not help.
Please suggest some solution.
See the follow screenshot => https://drive.google.com/file/d/0ByEAku9otm0YaUpWeTdUYmNfMHc/view?usp=sharing
I use Avast Password day and night and paid also for avast subscription.

Offline James626

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Browsers say Avast not running
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2017, 05:39:45 PM »
I am also having this issue. The Chrome extension worked fine for a day after it was installed but, once I rebooted, it claims "Avast Passwords is not running", even though I have the Avast Password window open and logged in next to my browser.

OS: OS X Sierra (10.12.3)
Browser: Google Chrome (57.0.2987.133 (64-bit))
Avast Passwords: 1.4.2203
Avast Passwords Extension: 1.1.2746

I have tried removing and re-installing the extension but to no avail.

I'd appreciate it if you could tell me how to resolve this issue as I was hoping to purchase and roll-out Avast Password across my company but I need to know it's reliable first!