Author Topic: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable  (Read 4952 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline inju

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« on: February 25, 2017, 12:20:06 AM »
Hi,

I have Avast Internet Security. When I do a scan with Wi-Fi Inspector Network, at the end it tells me that the router has open ports facing the internet.

I've tried to fix this by going into my router settings, but as I don't know much about this sort of thing I'm not sure what exactly I need to change.

My router's firewall is set to low (the only other setting is high, but this stops me accessing emails and connecting to things like Steam), but I do have Avast Firewall enabled. My ACL list is all set to LAN rather than WAN.

If I enable Avast SecureLine VPN and do the Wi-Fi Inspector Network scan, the results don't show the same problem. I could of course have SecureLine always enabled, but I'd still like to know what the problem is.

Anyone know what might be causing my issue, and how to fix it?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31342
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 08:53:50 AM »
You already answered your own question.
The  "low" setting for the firewall.
Set it to high and create the correct rules for your email and other things.

Read your routers manual to see how to do it.

Offline WK_schnarfl

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2017, 10:06:38 AM »
This answer only helps if one's router manual does indeed tell you how to do it.

Offline trostspender

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2017, 12:41:09 PM »
The wifi-Inspector module has a definitely a bug! in the Avast Free v17.7.2314 - Version too!
(With Win 7 pro and Win 10 pro)!!
I have a 14 digits password mixed and Avast says my login is:

username: admin
password: admin

lol! (with a tp-link 1043N v5)
« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 12:48:47 PM by trostspender »
BS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit | Ubuntu 14.04.x | VBox 4.4.x
Hardware: Athlon Phenom II 945 | RAM 8 GB | GK: Asus 660 TI
Software: MBAM 2.x | Win Firewall | Firefox 43.x | Avast Free 2015

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31342
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2017, 12:54:30 PM »
And what about the backup function in the router, the ISP's name/password etc ?

Offline trostspender

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2017, 01:10:59 PM »
backup function? Since when does one need a password? or ISP/name?
My backup file is on a usb-stick named "backup-TL-WR1043Nv5-2017-10-02.bin"
BS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit | Ubuntu 14.04.x | VBox 4.4.x
Hardware: Athlon Phenom II 945 | RAM 8 GB | GK: Asus 660 TI
Software: MBAM 2.x | Win Firewall | Firefox 43.x | Avast Free 2015

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31342
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2017, 02:29:04 PM »
Many routers have a build in backup function for name/passwords.
And there is as I said the ISP's name/password as well (normally) as the WiFi password etc.

Offline trostspender

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2017, 05:24:15 PM »
Fact is - I have nowhere nowhere nowhere nowhere

user: admin
passw: admin

registered! So thats a fat bug in Avast!!!!
Is avast searching for my cabel modem? :)

On every test of my Router I have no vulnerably!
« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 05:29:30 PM by trostspender »
BS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit | Ubuntu 14.04.x | VBox 4.4.x
Hardware: Athlon Phenom II 945 | RAM 8 GB | GK: Asus 660 TI
Software: MBAM 2.x | Win Firewall | Firefox 43.x | Avast Free 2015

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36810
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2017, 07:04:46 PM »
Quote
user: admin
passw: admin
When you log in to your router to manage your router settings, what user name and password do you use? Factory default?


Default Router Username and Password List
http://192-168-1-1ip.mobi/default-router-passwords-list/

alfabetic list  https://portforward.com/router-password/


« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 07:07:16 PM by Pondus »

Offline trostspender

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2017, 10:49:15 AM »
No factory defaults!

One of the first things of  (new / other) Router I do is set a other username and PW also not factory default!
As I said: All online router tests are ok..
BS: Windows 7 Pro 64 bit | Ubuntu 14.04.x | VBox 4.4.x
Hardware: Athlon Phenom II 945 | RAM 8 GB | GK: Asus 660 TI
Software: MBAM 2.x | Win Firewall | Firefox 43.x | Avast Free 2015

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Internet Sceucrity saying my router is vulnerable
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2018, 07:22:42 PM »
Original post was on 25 February 2017, more than a year ago.   ;)
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.604) UI version 1.0.575.