Author Topic: free security check  (Read 7082 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5070
free security check
« on: December 05, 2003, 10:05:27 PM »
http://browsercheck.qualys.com/ nice free security check I saw it on TechTV today
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5070
Re:free security check
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2003, 10:09:05 PM »
if you  are completly safe please tell me what firewall you use BlackICE allowed then to see my OS version  :o
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5070
Re:free security check
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2003, 10:11:17 PM »
by the way the latest blackICE update was on Dec 2
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5070
Re:free security check
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2003, 10:32:08 PM »
 Mac OS 10.3 updates are avalible update to 10.3.01 to fix memory leak problem in the new panther version. And to fix security Flaw (apple did not say what flaw I guess its so no virus will exploit the flaw in old versions)
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Hornus Continuum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • If you only remember one thing, it's this ...
Re:free security check
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2003, 01:56:11 AM »
MacLover,

I came up squeaky clean.  I'm running Outpost home edition.

Regards,
Hornus

"Quote me as saying I was misquoted." -- Groucho Marx  ;D

Offline Waldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Avast does the ownage
Re:free security check
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2003, 04:20:47 PM »
Seems like i can't take the test...

Just like with most online checks, if your browser settings and or firewall settings are to restrictive, the tests will not run.

but, hey, If i can't run them, i must be safe then also.  ;D

I will never set my browser less safe, just to run a test. This is to stupid.

But for the people who can run it, it gives a good idea about your settings.

Waldo
**Guns are for show, knifes for a pro**

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:free security check
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2003, 07:25:19 PM »
Waldo, just to know, do you make tests about the on any of these security checks that I listed here, specifically these ones:

On-line virus and security scan. All have been tested by experts. But use them at your own risk.

Audit My PC Audit your firewall for weaknesses!
Av test
BitDefender
Kaspersky
Links to info and fixes for viruses
On line Anti-Virus Service DrWebb upload any file for free examination!
Panda Detects and cleans at the spot, using a daily updated database. note: ONLY for systems with NO antivirus installed. ActiveX needs to be enabled.
PC-Cillin On-line ScannerPCPitstop
RAV On-line Scanner
Security Scan various tests for dangerous scripts (Java Applets, ActiveX, Scrap files, attachments)
SoftWin Online scanner reasonable virus/trojan scanner!
Symantec
Trend Micro
White Hats DOS scanning

I'll appreciate any answer from you. Best regards.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Waldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Avast does the ownage
Re:free security check
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2003, 07:57:09 PM »
Technical,

I use regular (every week)

Housecall
RAV
Shields up (gibson)
Kaspersky file checker (when needed)

I have to disable my browser + firewall (ZA pror4) security settings (blocking active x) to run Housecall and RAV.

I don't use Panda online (because for it signatures).
I don't use Pc pitstop (E trust gives false alarm everytime)

Waldo
« Last Edit: December 12, 2003, 07:57:52 PM by Waldo »
**Guns are for show, knifes for a pro**

Offline Waldo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Avast does the ownage
Re:free security check
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2003, 08:04:25 PM »
I have to disable ZA Pro 4 "mobile code control" (active x, Javascript, embedded, Mime) to be able to run ALL other tests.

If I do shut it down, offcourse the results are most of the times no good, but why on earth would i surf the internet with a handicapped (disabled setting) in my Firewall ?

ZA Pro also has service protection and can't be shut down by killing malware.

So, i guess, when i'm running it, i'm safe.

Kind regards,

Waldo

**Guns are for show, knifes for a pro**