Author Topic: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291  (Read 74430 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86528
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #105 on: April 04, 2017, 07:01:04 PM »
The rootkit scan from memory and assuming it hasn't changed doesn't start until 8 minutes after boot so that I wouldn't have though would have as great an impact.

That said there is quite a lot going on at boot (aside from all of the other programs set to run on boot) I would suggest examining the programs you allow to boot and be strict in what you allow.

These avast avast processes run close to boot:
aswidsagent.exe - this is the Behaviour Shield.
AvastSvc.exe - the is the main avast service controlling all the various scanning engines - considering the above probably not the behaviour shield.
AvastUI.exe - whilst the User Interface isn't a specific security feature it does use resources.
intsup.exe - this is the avast installation and update process - it runs very early on and does consume CPU activity as it checks for updates and applies them. Once this is complete it closes.

I have delayed the instup.exe update function to start 5 minutes after boot, by modifying the avast5.ini file.

For a start you could try this, though it shouldn't give that much relief - avastUI > Settings > Troubleshooting and enable the Load Avast services only after loading other system services.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline SimmonsTheMad33

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #106 on: April 05, 2017, 05:51:20 AM »
Installed 2291 over 2288 from the GUI and everything appears to be working fine for me +1
Motherboard- Asus Z390 Maximus XI Hero / CPU- 8700K / RAM- 32GB DDR4 2666 / GPU- GTX 1070 FE / NVME- Corsair MP510 240GB / Windows 10 64 Home

Offline alicia.rose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #107 on: April 05, 2017, 11:57:40 AM »
Thank you DavidR for the useful information.  :)

My computer boots quickly when Avast is not installed.

I do not want my computer scanned every time I turn it on, I like to choose when to scan.

I unchecked under Troubleshooting 'Enable rootkit scan on system startup' - 10 minutes have been knocked off the startup time by doing this. So now I have 15 minutes of full on hard drive activity light instead of 25 - I can cope with that.

I will check this and allow a rootkit scan once a week. Not as safe I know, but 25 minutes startup time 2 to 3 times a day is too much for me.

I unchecked under Troubleshooting 'Load Avast services only after loading other system services' - but unlike before this seemed to make no difference on my machine to boot time.




Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86528
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #108 on: April 05, 2017, 12:21:41 PM »
Thank you DavidR for the useful information.  :)

My computer boots quickly when Avast is not installed.

I do not want my computer scanned every time I turn it on, I like to choose when to scan.

I unchecked under Troubleshooting 'Enable rootkit scan on system startup' - 10 minutes have been knocked off the startup time by doing this. So now I have 15 minutes of full on hard drive activity light instead of 25 - I can cope with that.

I will check this and allow a rootkit scan once a week. Not as safe I know, but 25 minutes startup time 2 to 3 times a day is too much for me.

I unchecked under Troubleshooting 'Load Avast services only after loading other system services' - but unlike before this seemed to make no difference on my machine to boot time.

You're welcome.

It isn't actually scanning everything when you boot, it is only scanning active files, that is the whole point of a resident on-access AV, they aren't designed to be on-demand scanners.

That is a bit strange as the anti-rootkit scan previously didn't start until 8 minutes after boot. I don't know if that has changed.

As I said I didn't believe there would be a big difference (though some has found it worked) as it isn't waiting for all services, only the system ones.

A boot taking 25 minutes or anything even approaching that I would say there is something else going on other than just avast.

It may well be best to start your own new topic where it won't get buried in this already large topic. Collate what you have done here and we can try a different approach. There are some analysis tools that can check for anything untoward that may be hurting boot times.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alicia.rose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #109 on: April 05, 2017, 01:28:13 PM »
'Load Avast services only after loading other system services' - Avast tec suggested this too, seemed to work somewhat last time I tried but not this.

"That is a bit strange as the anti-rootkit scan previously didn't start until 8 minutes after boot. I don't know if that has changed."

Maybe it doesn't......on other computers that are not so slow to startup?

"It may well be best to start your own new topic where it won't get buried in this already large topic. Collate what you have done here and we can try a different approach. There are some analysis tools that can check for anything untoward that may be hurting boot times."

I appreciate the offer to help......I have an old Dell desktop, I'm sure I would be told I need a new one.  :)

What made me think it's Avast related is boot time being fast without it.......but then could be a case of when new technology meets old. Can low ram affect this? Please don't ask how much I have, you'd laugh and be amazed that my computer works at all with it. :) I've bought some compatible memory, but need to pluck up the courage to install it, never worked inside a computer before.

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #110 on: April 05, 2017, 02:11:03 PM »
Don't know if this has been reported or not, but on my Dell Dimension 8200 P4 running Windows XP PRO SP3 every now and then (happened twice this week) Behavior Shield was not Enabled ... Was able to turn it back on with no issues. This has not happened (yet) on my Toshiba Laptop with Windows 10 Home 64 Bit ... Just to be safe, this morning I reran the Offline installer on the Dell, just in case. Time will tell. 
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1909 Build 18363.900
Avast Free Antivirus 20.4.2410 Build 20.4.5312.578

ttomm46@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #111 on: April 05, 2017, 06:32:32 PM »
I used Avast Clear in Safe Mode.....Then did offline installar..Now it won;t even do a quick scan..Total waste of 24.95

Never again!!! >:(

mitashkistz@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #112 on: April 05, 2017, 09:19:08 PM »
I have noticed that when the Game Mode is turned on, when I launch some game, Avast changing the power plan to High Performance, but when I close the game, the power plan is not switching back to Balanced. This was not an issue with the old version ( where when the game was closed, Avast changed back the power plan to the original one ). I have tested that on two different PCs with Windows 10 x64.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2017, 09:34:00 PM by mitashkistz »

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5422
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #113 on: April 06, 2017, 12:52:05 AM »
'Load Avast services only after loading other system services' - Avast tec suggested this too, seemed to work somewhat last time I tried but not this.

"That is a bit strange as the anti-rootkit scan previously didn't start until 8 minutes after boot. I don't know if that has changed."

Maybe it doesn't......on other computers that are not so slow to startup?

"It may well be best to start your own new topic where it won't get buried in this already large topic. Collate what you have done here and we can try a different approach. There are some analysis tools that can check for anything untoward that may be hurting boot times."

I appreciate the offer to help......I have an old Dell desktop, I'm sure I would be told I need a new one.  :)

What made me think it's Avast related is boot time being fast without it.......but then could be a case of when new technology meets old. Can low ram affect this? Please don't ask how much I have, you'd laugh and be amazed that my computer works at all with it. :) I've bought some compatible memory, but need to pluck up the courage to install it, never worked inside a computer before.
No, you would not be told to throw away a perfectly good machine just because it is older.  If you wish help that is free, then start a new topic as David suggests, and link that topic to this one via quotes, and we will go from there. 

BTW. the machine I have is older, 2008, and boots to desktop in 45 seconds.  I also have a second machine running Xubuntu 32-bit with a Pentium 4 2.8 GHz single core processor I picked up off the curb, in the neighborhood, about a year ago that I am using now.  It has 1 GB memory but works just fine with that.  I am using that one to post.

[EDIT:]  In discussion with DavidR as to what one possible source of excessive boot times.   ;D
« Last Edit: April 06, 2017, 02:21:16 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.3.6008 (build 21.3.7108.721) UI version 1.0.702.

Offline alicia.rose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #114 on: April 06, 2017, 10:25:51 AM »
Ah.....thanks mchain for your kind words, made me feel better.

Perhaps I am wording this incorrectly, the desktop / tray icons show after a few minutes, it is the full on scanning activity for 25 minutes (with default rootkit scan on system startup enabled) that is causing the problem. I can't use my computer until this stops / the hard drive activity light drops, it's too busy and won't respond.

To give you an idea of how old my computer is, it still has the original RDRAM / Rambus memory it came with. Despite its age it recently passed 10 runs of Memtest.....managed to get some new exact same to upgrade from the US.



« Last Edit: April 06, 2017, 10:46:46 AM by alicia.rose »

mori910@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #115 on: April 06, 2017, 11:30:34 AM »
I'm getting the "You're in danger Your licence is not authentic" message again (it's actually got over a year to run), although my account page says everything is up to date and working. I reinstalled Avast Premier a couple of weeks ago and it was working again, then this message reappeared a couple of days ago.

Will this new update or upcoming ones fix this problem? When it happens the VNP and Cleanup also stop working.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47044
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #116 on: April 06, 2017, 11:35:32 AM »
I'm getting the "You're in danger Your licence is not authentic" message again (it's actually got over a year to run), although my account page says everything is up to date and working. I reinstalled Avast Premier a couple of weeks ago and it was working again, then this message reappeared a couple of days ago.

Will this new update or upcoming ones fix this problem? When it happens the VNP and Cleanup also stop working.
Each product has it's own distinct license. I suggest you contact customer service:
http://support.avast.com/support/tickets/new


Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #117 on: April 06, 2017, 01:30:59 PM »
alicia -- I also have an old computer with RDRAM .. a Dell Dimension 8200 P4 @ 1.8Ghz .. it is now maxed out at a full 2GB of Rambus RDRAM .. found it here in the US for less than $60 for all 2GB .. used to be very, very, very expensive.
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1909 Build 18363.900
Avast Free Antivirus 20.4.2410 Build 20.4.5312.578

Offline stanblaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #118 on: April 06, 2017, 02:31:53 PM »
I've just been updated to 17.3.2291 (build 17.3.3443.0) and the user interface no longer works with the message "UI failed to load, AV service failed to load".
Followed the instructions to do a clean remove which ended in a message "Incompatible antivirus found, Avast, you will have to remove this",  After rebooting there was no sign of Avast on my system so I reinstalled the offline version only to end up with the same UI failed to load message.  I can still get to the setup screen via right clicking and selecting registration info or about.
Avast still 'seems' to be working in the background but no UI any more.
Where do I go from here???
« Last Edit: April 06, 2017, 02:33:30 PM by stanblaz »

Offline alicia.rose

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: NEW: Avast 17.3.2290 + 2291
« Reply #119 on: April 06, 2017, 07:40:06 PM »
alicia -- I also have an old computer with RDRAM .. a Dell Dimension 8200 P4 @ 1.8Ghz .. it is now maxed out at a full 2GB of Rambus RDRAM .. found it here in the US for less than $60 for all 2GB .. used to be very, very, very expensive.
Really.....I have a Dell Dimension 8100! This takes up to 2GB too Dell told me. I know a little about memory but not processors.

Nice to know I'm not alone.  :) You were lucky to find such a good price for that.