Author Topic: avast - high RAM usage  (Read 3759 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline topolowaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
avast - high RAM usage
« on: May 09, 2017, 11:16:59 PM »
I noticed in last few days that my PC freezes few minutes after turning on. I managed to open Task Manager just before freezing and see it's probably avast what causes this. Any clues why does it happen?

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2234
Re: avast - high RAM usage
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2017, 11:34:14 PM »
This looks like a memory leak to me...

Which version of Avast?
Any other security software installed?
Operating system?
Have you ran an Avast repair?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline topolowaty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: avast - high RAM usage
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 12:22:24 AM »
1. 17.4.2294
2. Malwarebytes Antimalware but I run it just for scans.
3. Windows 7 32bit
4. No

What is memory leak? Is it more software or hardware problem?
It goes to 1-1,5GB and then back to normal in few seconds. After this computer and avast work fine.

Offline tlee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: avast - high RAM usage
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2017, 04:05:49 PM »
Same issue.

1. Latest version 17.4.2294  Avast Pro
2. No
3. WinXP pro Sp3, 32bit
4. Performed Avast Clear and reinstall the off-line version. But PC also freezes (keeps 95 ~ 100% CPU loading )

So disappointed Avast software quality control in 2017.
Many big mistakes from Avast......
Last time was Blue Screen Fault in Win7, 32bit.............
What is Avast doing now ???>:(

Please fix it quickly , or re-post the download link of previous Avast Pro / IS off-line version (all in yr 2016) to us.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2017, 04:20:52 PM by tlee »

Offline TheOwner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
Re: avast - high RAM usage
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2017, 04:13:27 PM »
For me Avast with Malwarebytes caused heavy system slowdown (no realtime protection from MB). So maybe some incompatibilty? If nothing more help, i would try uninstall Malwarebytes.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45454
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avast - high RAM usage
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2017, 05:46:24 PM »
For me Avast with Malwarebytes caused heavy system slowdown (no realtime protection from MB). So maybe some incompatibilty? If nothing more help, i would try uninstall Malwarebytes.
Have you tried the latest version of MBAM v 3.1 ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq