Author Topic: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing  (Read 2942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
"Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« on: May 30, 2017, 11:17:32 AM »
Avast keeps detecting the Options.exe file from https://github.com/White-Tiger/T-Clock as a false positive.

I thought I'd be able to report that using "Submit to virus lab..." from the Virus Chest but... this does nothing...

Any clue?

Offline Be Secure

  • Long Time Avast User(10years.....) Security Enthusiast.
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1910
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2017, 11:23:24 AM »
PC- Windows10 EDU 64Bit,avast! free 21.1.2449,uBlock Origin,NVT_OSA,GoogleChrome(64bit),CCleaner,Unchecky,ZAM Free,Shadow Defender.
Security Enthusiast

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 11:26:30 AM »
Sure, I know of that other way to report a false positive... but that doesn't explain why the built-in feature doesn't work!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84864
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2017, 11:31:20 AM »
When you submit a file for analysis from the virus chest, you don't actually see any action at that time. The reason for this is it is transmitted during the next virus definitions update.

When I submit a file from the virus chest, I always initiate a manual virus definitions update. When I have done it like this in the update progress I can see the file being uploaded during the update process.

I don't know if this has changed in avast 17.x.xxxx as it has been a while since I submitted a file for analysis.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31309
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2017, 11:35:51 AM »
It is still the same in 17.x
It is even mentioned that the file will be submitted during the next VPS update.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84864
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2017, 11:56:48 AM »
It is still the same in 17.x
It is even mentioned that the file will be submitted during the next VPS update.


Thanks for the confirmation.

It has always had the notification that it will be uploaded with the next VPS update in the past.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31309
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2017, 12:07:38 PM »
As I said, it still has that notification.

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2017, 12:10:12 PM »
I don't get that notification.

Also, in the past, one would get a dialog where one would input details about the false positive: file source, product name and version if the file is part of a product, etc. Has this all just gone?

Offline Milos

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2234
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2017, 12:35:14 PM »
Hello,
what was the detection name, please? Was it IDP?

Milos

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2017, 01:27:23 PM »
Yes, it's IDP, see attached screenshot of the "Properties" dialog.

BTW, it seems Avast ignores my request to exclude this file, I have to restore it repeatedly...

Offline Milos

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2234
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2017, 02:14:40 PM »
Hello,
thanks for the screenshot. Yes, submits of IDP detected files is in TODO list.

Option "Restore and add to exclusions" does not work?

Milos

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2017, 02:21:03 PM »
I've used "Restore and add to exclusions" 3 times already... and it seems the file still gets moved to the chest even though it's part of the exclusion list...

See screenshots.

Offline Milos

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2234
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2017, 02:43:36 PM »
Hello,
I can confirm that "Restore and add to exclusions" does not work for IDP now. Thanks for reporting. Bug will be fixed.

Milos

Offline avast.nospam4sba

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: "Submit to virus lab..." does nothing
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2017, 04:31:55 PM »
Great! How will we know that the bugfix is available?