Author Topic: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings  (Read 19588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Evanna456

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2017, 03:26:18 PM »
im using proxy myself, no problem here. There is no way avast free can change the proxy settings on  its own. Just reset avast to default under settings>troubleshooting>reset factory, so it will use the system settings maybe it will somehow cure your illness and will make u look into ur firewall apps or disable avast for a while and see which application(registry restore something/firewall) is changing the settings or a malware that u recently installed.HAHAHAHAHA. SysInternals?lol just a waste of processing power./ use task manager or resource moitor like a real man. I wouldnt trust that software if i were u.
just a noob

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31303
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2017, 03:53:03 PM »
Still no info on what part of avast is causing it from Carles.
Also no prove or even a indication that avast is causing it.
Could be very well Windows itself is resetting them.

Offline marcoregueira

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2017, 01:58:03 PM »
Here is proof. Avast resets proxy settings from time to time without notifying.

It would be great to have a separate setting for this.

Thank you.

Offline microtek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #18 on: July 13, 2017, 10:17:42 AM »
Hello Avast Team,

our company is using Avast Pro Antivirus 17.5.2302 (build 17.5.3559.0) and we are facing the same problem described by this topic.

As marcoregueira already posted, here the trace about Avast resets:

Code: [Select]
"Time of Day","Process Name","PID","Operation","Path","Result","Detail"
"09:55:12,6729346","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegCreateKey","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings","SUCCESS","Desired Access: Write, Disposition: REG_OPENED_EXISTING_KEY"
"09:55:12,6729690","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegSetInfoKey","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings","SUCCESS","KeySetInformationClass: KeySetHandleTagsInformation, Length: 0"
"09:55:12,6729790","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegSetValue","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyEnable","SUCCESS","Type: REG_DWORD, Length: 4, Data: 0"
"09:55:12,6730897","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegDeleteValue","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyServer","SUCCESS",""
"09:55:12,6731160","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegDeleteValue","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyOverride","SUCCESS",""
"09:55:12,6731314","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegDeleteValue","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\AutoConfigURL","NAME NOT FOUND",""
"09:55:12,6731414","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegDeleteValue","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\AutoDetect","NAME NOT FOUND",""
"09:55:12,6731534","avastsvc.exe","2872","RegCloseKey","HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings","SUCCESS",""

Thanks.

Microtek

Online bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45979
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #19 on: July 13, 2017, 02:21:25 PM »
Reported to Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lucolg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2017, 12:08:51 PM »
We have the same issue here. We use Telerik Fiddler, a very important Proxy tool for us for the debugging of HTTP requests, and Avast keeps resetting the Proxy while we are debugging, so debugging is basically made impossible through that.

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2017, 05:48:29 AM »
We have the same issue here. We use Telerik Fiddler, a very important Proxy tool for us for the debugging of HTTP requests, and Avast keeps resetting the Proxy while we are debugging, so debugging is basically made impossible through that.

Can I bump this as I'm having exactly the same issues and it's really annoying considering I don't have any of the firewall features for Avast?

Here are my logs from Process Monitor;

Exe: c:\program files\avast software\avast\avastsvc.exe

Code: [Select]
3:37:04.2638664 PM avastsvc.exe 2692 RegQueryValue HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyServer SUCCESS Type: REG_SZ, Length: 82, Data: http=127.0.0.1:8888;https=127.0.0.1:8888
3:37:04.2641615 PM avastsvc.exe 2692 RegDeleteValue HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyServer SUCCESS
3:37:04.3265197 PM Fiddler.exe 25308 RegQueryValue HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyServer NAME NOT FOUND Length: 144

Stack trace for the delete query;

Code: [Select]
0 ntoskrnl.exe SeLockSubjectContext + 0x3355 0xfffff80281f33bc5 C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
1 ntoskrnl.exe ObOpenObjectByName + 0x4218 0xfffff80281ef2468 C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
2 ntoskrnl.exe setjmpex + 0x3b63 0xfffff80281c0c413 C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
3 <unknown> 0x7ffc1be46d54 0x7ffc1be46d54
4 <unknown> 0x50dd3f97 0x50dd3f97
5 <unknown> 0x50dc6d63 0x50dc6d63
6 <unknown> 0x50ea1c93 0x50ea1c93
7 <unknown> 0x50ddb130 0x50ddb130
8 <unknown> 0x50dcb950 0x50dcb950
9 <unknown> 0x7ffc1be19c32 0x7ffc1be19c32
10 <unknown> 0x7ffc1be19b1b 0x7ffc1be19b1b
11 <unknown> 0x7ffc1be19ace 0x7ffc1be19ace
12 <unknown> 0x779b29fc 0x779b29fc
13 <unknown> 0x74a99e15 0x74a99e15
14 <unknown> 0x74a99ed3 0x74a99ed3
15 <unknown> 0x73b810de 0x73b810de
16 <unknown> 0x73b80fe7 0x73b80fe7
17 <unknown> 0x73c51371 0x73c51371
18 <unknown> 0x73b7c695 0x73b7c695
19 <unknown> 0x73b7c5b1 0x73b7c5b1
20 <unknown> 0x727b7b8d 0x727b7b8d
21 <unknown> 0x727b7557 0x727b7557
22 <unknown> 0x727db808 0x727db808
23 <unknown> 0x727dd974 0x727dd974
24 <unknown> 0x745fe89f 0x745fe89f
25 <unknown> 0x756b8744 0x756b8744
26 <unknown> 0x779a582d 0x779a582d
27 <unknown> 0x779a57fd 0x779a57fd

Offline drake127

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #22 on: November 27, 2017, 03:06:21 PM »
Can you upload .PML file from ProcMon?

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2017, 12:57:30 AM »
Can you upload .PML file from ProcMon?

https://ufile.io/w1ssg

Thanks for taking a look drake127!

Offline drake127

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #24 on: November 30, 2017, 11:07:43 AM »
Hi, it appears that that PML file is somehow broken. It is missing module information and we cannot match those addresses to our code. Can you use updated version of Process Monitor or check your save settings? Even without private symbols, the stack window should not read <unknown>.

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #25 on: December 01, 2017, 01:15:38 AM »
Would you be able to direct me to the version of Process Monitor you need me to use? This is what I've been using;

https://pasteboard.co/GW74jHn.png

Maybe it's easier if I print the stack the Process and Stack tabs associated with the RegDeleteValue instead?

https://pasteboard.co/GW75CeV.png
https://pasteboard.co/GW760RR.png


Offline drake127

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #26 on: December 01, 2017, 12:44:29 PM »
Hi again, I found out that you need to disable Avast self-defense (Settings->Troubleshooting), restart your computer and then you will see proper modules in Process Monitor. The result should look like the attachment. When you have it, upload the PML file again. Thanks!

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2017, 04:37:04 AM »
here you go drake, thanks again;

https://ufile.io/y7tdw

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #28 on: December 13, 2017, 01:11:21 AM »
Any ideas or clues yet drake127?

Offline robbbb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast keeps resetting my Proxy settings
« Reply #29 on: December 19, 2017, 01:34:23 AM »
Shame not to hear anything yet. I'm just going to uninstall it and try something else, thanks for trying!