Author Topic: Avast Beta 17.5.2300  (Read 20343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2017, 05:03:38 PM »
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71798
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2017, 05:10:23 PM »
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.
I see. I didn't check it, but I will have a look at the main GUI after the next beta update. Cheers.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #17 on: June 17, 2017, 05:34:29 PM »
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85595
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #18 on: June 17, 2017, 06:09:52 PM »
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.

Greetz, Red.


Thanks for that, looks more like an omission/accident. Hopefully we will see it return soon.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71798
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #19 on: June 17, 2017, 08:54:18 PM »
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.
Thanks for that, looks more like an omission/accident. Hopefully we will see it return soon.
Hi guys, I asked about it on Slack, let's see... ;)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Zeniit

  • Beta Tester
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2017, 01:32:34 PM »
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.

+1 Lord_Ami

Confirmed, nothing here too on the Main UI.
Windows 7 Pro 64bit -  Avast IS BETA channel - Firefox 47.0.1 x64 - Thunderbird 45.2 - avast! mobile security

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2017, 01:59:53 PM »
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.

+1 Lord_Ami

Confirmed, nothing here too on the Main UI.
Nice :)
All in all, I think it has to do with the missing Status monitoring.

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1070
  • Product Manager
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2017, 11:02:00 AM »
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\

Hi yes status monitoring was removed as the system of warning messages has been changed. Now you can Ignore specific messages directly on the dashboard. The ignored warnings can be later found in the notification center.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2017, 11:59:36 AM »
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\

Hi yes status monitoring was removed as the system of warning messages has been changed. Now you can Ignore specific messages directly on the dashboard. The ignored warnings can be later found in the notification center.

Does this mean that the user won't see that a shield is disabled if the AvastUI is not opened?
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1070
  • Product Manager
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2017, 12:24:41 PM »
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2017, 12:34:38 PM »
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.

I just tested it, but it doesn't warn when "Ransomware shield" and "Real site" are disabled.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71798
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2017, 12:50:01 PM »
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.
I just tested it, but it doesn't warn when "Ransomware shield" and "Real site" are disabled.
Hi Red, it works for me, see screenshots. Cheers.

Edit: I may correct myself, I did test it with behavior shield, it doesn't show up if ransomware protection is disabled (Real Site not installed).
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 01:03:27 PM by Asyn »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31303
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #27 on: June 19, 2017, 01:06:49 PM »
Stats still haven't returned.

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85595
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #28 on: June 19, 2017, 01:24:53 PM »
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.


Surely that was the point of the status monitoring, to allow the user to disable notification on certain components in advance of any warning. Previously I believe the Behaviour Shield status monitoring option was off by default, how then would we know if an option was disabled for a shield ?

I had also unchecked the Program Update status monitoring option in this current beta session as I had many BSODs on one of the beta builds and decided to drop back to the last stable beta.

So are you saying that once you get the warning for the first time you can elect to ignore that for all time ?
If so how would the user reverse and temporary use of the status monitoring option in the past.

Or are you going to have to ignore it every time, which doesn't seem very intuitive to me.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Online NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4866
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
« Reply #29 on: June 19, 2017, 01:31:27 PM »
The new "ignore" feature does not remember what shields is ignored.
i.e. Once Behav shield got ignored, Mail shield will get ignored too.

Also, "Unignore" does not work for me.
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。