Author Topic: Must “Avast Free Mac Sercurity" be open to continually scan ?.  (Read 4887 times)

REDACTED

Hi all

I am new to Avast.

Does “Avast Free Mac Sercurity” have to be open to continually scan ?.

Or does it scan just sitting in the dock or menubar without being open ?.

Should i add “Avast Free Mac Sercurity” to login ithems ?.

I havent been able to find any info on this.

Thanks.

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
« Last Edit: July 09, 2017, 06:57:59 PM by Pondus »

REDACTED

Re: Must “Avast Free Mac Sercurity" be open to continually scan ?.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2017, 01:41:41 PM »
Hi Pondus

Thank you for your reply.

I read your reply as - i do not have to have "Avast Mac Security" open at all times, for it to continually scan for viruses - is this correct ?.

Thank you.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2017, 01:50:03 PM »
Only times you need to open the GUI is when you want to change a setting, run a manual (user defined) scan or something like that.
AV's work in the background with the real time protection.

REDACTED

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2017, 02:49:09 PM »
Hi Eddy

Thank you.

But - i want to be absolutely sure about this, and maby i am expressing myself unclearly.

Does “Avast Mac Sercurity” have to be "turned on", while sitting in the dock or menubar, like say "Google Drive" does, in order for it to synchronise files - this is what i mean by "open".

Thanks.

Offline lukas.hasik

• Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • Product manager of Avast Security for Windows
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2017, 11:30:35 AM »
Avast Mac Security installs its real time protection components as kext (we call them "shield" in AV UI). They run regardless of the icon in the dock/menu bar. (Of course, the shield shouldn't be "disabled" in Preferences ;))