Author Topic: How to use "Bank Mode"?  (Read 2772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
How to use "Bank Mode"?
« on: July 09, 2017, 06:31:07 PM »
I recently upgraded to Internet Security.  I have no idea how to properly use "Bank Mode".  I have searched for tutorials and if there is one, I haven't been able to locate it.

Can somebody please point me to a resource to use Bank Mode properly?

TIA! 

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37102

Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"? (still need help please)
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2017, 01:59:09 PM »
When I click on the icon on my desktop I get the following error:

---------------------------------------------------------------
Your preference files cannot be read
Some features maybe unavailable and changes to settings wont be made
---------------------------------------------------------------

So what do I do now?  TY!

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37102
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2017, 03:01:07 PM »

Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2017, 03:06:17 PM »
TY!  Won't be able to try the fix until later. Will report results.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46009
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2017, 05:41:45 PM »

Repair Avast:
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204


If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2017, 05:39:07 AM »
The repair did not work.

Will now do a clean install.


Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2017, 06:38:07 AM »
I will start by saying that for the 2nd time an Avast product that I paid for has let me down and caused more problems than it's maybe worth.  here's what i did;

1. Repair = did not solve the problem
2. Went thru the process of dloading the cleaning utility as well as the product I purchased.

During the utility it booted into safe mode, did it's thing, then asking me if I wanted to reboot?  YES

So then when trying to reboot in safe mode, (I run Win7 64) when the screen got to the "shutting down" with the turning circle, the computer froze on that screen.  The circle was still turning but my processor was idle.

So then I press the power button to force shutdown.  "OK, no big deal" I say to myself.

Boot the computer back up.....Bank Mode seems to work like it should....GREAT!!!!

Go to shut down the PC and it hangs on the same "shutting down" screen.  Have to press the power button to shut it down.

So here I sit with a PC that won't shut down in it's own now....and I'm not techie enough to know what to look for.  I've spent over an hour on this all and I'm in worse shape (IMO) than when I started over an hour ago.

THis reminds me of the problems I had installing the Avast Sandbox (or whatever it was called) two'ish years ago.  Nothing but problems with the install and I gave up and went back to the free version.

And before you rip me for using the free version, I have been a contributor to the fine folks who put Avast out there for us to use.

Can you tell I'm not happy? :)

Going to bed now..........and help out there?


Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2017, 06:41:07 AM »
And now it seems I have lost all of my usernames and passwords.  I paid for the Avast password protection and that's now gone........argh!!!

Offline 1111GD1111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: How to use "Bank Mode"?
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2017, 08:08:49 PM »
And now my Outlook 2016 is all messed up!   Argh!