Author Topic: Sensitive Data Shield  (Read 9677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Sensitive Data Shield
« on: July 29, 2017, 12:20:10 AM »
I just noticed a new (??) "Sensitive Data Shield" in the Privacy Tab, enabled (apparently by default).   
[I'm using avast Free 17.5.2303 build 3585.192 on Win XP SP3]

Has anyone heard or know anything about this?
Also:   When I try running a scan, it gets part-way (e.g., somewhere between 11 and 17%) and just "disappears" --- i.e., closes down the avast UI.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 12:30:43 AM by ky331 »
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 12:29:47 AM »
It isn't in my FREE version
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2017, 12:33:30 AM »
In my Free Version 17.5.2303  Just noticed that on Windows 10 Pro x64bit here


« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 12:35:36 AM by Patrick2 »
Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2017, 12:35:21 AM »
Screenshots:  Files attached
« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 12:54:23 AM by ky331 »
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2017, 12:35:48 AM »
In my Free Version 17.5.2303  Just noticed that on Windows 10 Pro x64bit here
Screenshot would help.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2017, 12:36:48 AM »
Please check your version #
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2017, 12:52:44 AM »
It's present only on my WinXP SP3 system, but NOT on my Win7x64 SP1.

Both using Free version 17.5.2303 build x.3585.192

I've added XP SP3 screenshots in post (Reply #3, above).
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2017, 12:54:45 AM »
It's present only on my WinXP SP3 system, but NOT on my Win7x64 SP1.

Both using Free version 17.5.2303 build x.3585.192

I've added XP SP3 screenshots in post (Reply #3, above).
When you click on the Sensitive Data Shield what happens ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2017, 12:56:35 AM »
Starts a scan, then finds sensitive documents, then stays you've protected the documents at the end, how protected them, not sure lol, but that's what it stated

Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2017, 12:59:23 AM »
It starts its scan, immediately at 10%.
It continued for a short while, to somewhere between 11% to 17%, and then just VANISHES... the interface closed down.
I tried two or three times, and the same thing happened.

That's when I wrote this post/inquiry.

Ah... as I was writing this, I see Patrick responded, saying his scan completed.
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2017, 01:09:25 AM »
Reported to Avast. Wait for a reply from them. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.12, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2017, 01:29:04 AM »
For what it's worth, on the 5th (6th?? 7th??) attempt, the scan finally completed --- reporting that no sensitive documents were found.   (Not surprising, since I've moved my personal documents off my XP system onto my Win7 system years ago).
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2017, 02:02:13 AM »
Avast Sensitive Data Shield is an upcomming feature.
But as far as I know it is for Paying users, so I am surprised it is showing in Free.

Originally is was placed under the Performance tab ( see attached screenshot ) but that was the wrong place.

Greetz, Red.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2017, 09:48:06 AM by pk »
OS: Win 10 / iOS 15 / Debian 11 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2017, 02:06:07 AM »
Well definitely showing on Free on my Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit system and my Windows 10 Pro 64bit Desktop here,  scans, shows 14 Documents that may contain senstivtive information, and about all it does that I can tell

« Last Edit: July 29, 2017, 02:07:43 AM by Patrick2 »
Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Sensitive Data Shield
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2017, 02:13:46 AM »
Thnx for the screenshot :)

As a Beta tester and payed user I don't have this feature ( right now ), so I am not sure what is happening.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 15 / Debian 11 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec