Author Topic: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?  (Read 2259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
[2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« on: August 11, 2017, 01:02:38 PM »
So I did fresh install of Avast Premier to test out stuff (without restarting after install finished). Windows 8.1 X64, Asus laptop.
When I ran SDS scan, it finished but the strings were overlapping each other. When I moved to Protection menu and back, I got the red (UIfailed) message.

Language installed: Estonian

EDIT: Second scan did not bring this glitch.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2017, 01:04:29 PM by Lord_Ami »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41512
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 02:53:34 PM »
Don't know if it would have made a difference but, it's never a good idea to test anything
or even use a new install without first doing a reboot. We have already seen that on some
occasions, more than a single reboot is required before everything works properly.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 03:52:27 PM »
Don't know if it would have made a difference but, it's never a good idea to test anything
or even use a new install without first doing a reboot. We have already seen that on some
occasions, more than a single reboot is required before everything works properly.

Agree. However, Avast did not request restart so being "normal" user, I did the "correct" thing  :P

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5382
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2017, 05:05:03 PM »
Maybe.

But it didn't work, say.

All Bob is saying, don't wait for avast to tell you to reboot and maybe you can avoid this issue.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.7.2388 (build 19.7.4674.524) UI version 1.0.402.  Formerly called Avast Internet Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41512
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2017, 05:11:04 PM »
Maybe.

But it didn't work, say.

All Bob is saying, don't wait for avast to tell you to reboot and maybe you can avoid this issue.
Lord_Ami is also correct in the fact that Avast should have requested a reboot.
The average user only does what he/she are asked and many times, not even that. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5382
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: [2307]Sensitive Data Shield - UI glitch?
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2017, 10:25:41 PM »
For version [2303]:  See below.

Are the files actually protected?  As every run of SDS should produce no new files when scanned if none were added between scans.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1809 Avast Premier Security version 19.7.2388 (build 19.7.4674.524) UI version 1.0.402.  Formerly called Avast Internet Security