Author Topic: Hotconference video/chat  (Read 3473 times)

furryferret

Hotconference video/chat
« on: April 23, 2006, 10:04:59 PM »
Ok I am a newbie here-- but I have a question.  I have downloaded a program from my site to handle a guest speaker chat.  Most of the site members are able to use this sofware as long as they have the minimum requirements.  I have the recommended requirements, and can not get sound to work.  <--- I get a loud static sound like a TV station goiing off the air. 
The sofware is called hotconference

While trying to troubleshoot the problem I have done the following:

Updated my drivers for audio/sound
updated active X
I took my wireless network down and plugged the cable right into my PC
After bringing the network back up I disabled the firewall on the router
I opened up the required ports using my Linksys network settings
I turned off my zonealarm
I have installed /uninstalled the software numerous times
I have scoured the internet for solutions
I have done many other things as well <-- but cant remember all of them--LOL

Could it be my Avast Software ?? Is there a setting I should change to allow a video/chat software to run  <-- this software is kinda VOIP technology.  The program runs fine EXCEPT I can not get any clear sound which it critical to have with the guest speakers.

Anybody got any ideas??  I am hitting a wall here!
thanks

Offline igor

• Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
    • AVAST Software
Re: Hotconference video/chat
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2006, 12:32:14 AM »
I don't think avast! can be the cause here. But of course, you can try to disable the avast! resident protection temporarily to see if it helps anyhow.

neal62

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2006, 01:25:04 AM »