Author Topic: How to set up Avast Passwords, replacing an antiquated password system  (Read 2869 times)

REDACTED

I have read and bookmarked the page on "How to set up Avast Passwords" (or words to that effect) but want more specific advice if that's possible.  The following parameters apply:
1. I have a current Avast Premier subscription on two computers (one desktop, one laptop) and one Android smartphone (Samsung Galaxy S5).
2. I do online banking and have all sorts of other password-requiring accounts, from scientific journals to PayPal and accounts with various vendors etc. - I am a water district manager in drought-ridden California, a sometime software developer, semi-pro photographer, geneticist, oceanography professor, consultant in diving medicine, etc. Too damn many hats.
3. I have been disgracefully slow to get on board with modern security measures (I advise others on security, but have not been very good at taking my own advice) so have a relatively small "stable" of half a dozen passwords used for multiple sites - in other words, the same password for several sites, although I know well that is poor practice.
4. Both computers are running Windows 10, version 1703, 64 bit.  I use Chrome as my primary browser, occasionally also MS Edge, at present no others.  I use MS Office 365.

So OK, now I want to fix all that.  At least, to set up a password safe, store all my passwords therein, and in the process systematically eliminate the many duplicate passwords, replacing them with pseudo-random or otherwise more secure passwords.

And it would be nice to be able to do that without creating too much chaos along the way.

So I am asking how to migrate my present insufficiently secure, too repetitive password system into Avast Passwords, and how to get rid of the duplications in the process, in the least painful and least time-consuming way.

Thanks for enlightenment

« Last Edit: September 02, 2017, 07:20:30 AM by saluqi »

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist