Author Topic: Can't connect to the host!  (Read 7052 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Can't connect to the host!
« on: April 29, 2006, 10:52:57 AM »
My AVAST! Home Edition can't connect since 3 days or more. I have a connection-anything can access to the internet. But why AVAST! can't? It's registered. How can I solved this problem?
       Thanks

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 03:11:46 PM »
What errors/warnings are you getting ?
What is your OS ?
What is your browser ?
What is your firewall ?
Does it allow access for ashWebSv.exe ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 05:43:01 PM »
Windows XP Home Edition, Firewall is switched off. Mozilla Firefox; any programs have access to the net.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2006, 05:51:21 PM »
But "What errors/warnings are you getting ?" these help provide clues as to what is happening. If it is exactly like your Title and using firefox, then it sounds like the firewall is blocking ashWebSv.exe.
But "What is your firewall ?"
But "Does it allow access for ashWebSv.exe ?"

Don't switch off your firewall, pause or terminate the Web Shield provider and see if you can then connect.
If you can, it is almost a certainly that the firewall is blocking ashWebSv.exe so your browsers can't connect because they get the internet data via the web shield proxy which scans the content before you view it.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2006, 05:53:14 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Spiritsongs

  • Guest
Which "version" of Avast
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2006, 05:59:18 PM »
 :)  Hi NUCLEAR-TNT :

     Which "version" of Avast do you currently have on your
     computer ? (4.6.763, 4.7.817, 4.7.826, 4.7.827, etc )

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2006, 07:30:19 PM »
I am using the newest. 4.7 Zone Alarm Pro(switched off). Windows XP Home Edition. It allows anything to access the net.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2006, 07:48:43 PM »
Even though you have switched it of I'm syre that there are still services running.

There is still a conflict between ZA Pro, privacy settings (High) and Web Shield, when installing avast with ZA installed you should have been prompted for what actiion to take, see below and this link http://www.avast.com/eng/webshield_issues.html.

- ZONE ALARM - AVAST Web Shield compatibility dialogue - Install/Update Question - YES or NO

If you are using ZoneAlarm Free you should click NO, because privacy features are not present in ZoneAlarm Free this will not turn off web shield transparent mode proxy.
Use a text editor and edit the avast4.ini file, the default installation location is C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\avast4.ini (I would advise you copy avast4.ini before editing it, just in case).
Locate the line containing ZoneAlarmCompatibility= and delete that line.  Save the edited avast4.ini file.

If you are using ZoneAlarm Pro and Privacy Control in ZoneAlarm is set to High and if you click YES in avast compatibility dialogue box the transparent mode proxy in web shield will be turned off you have to manually configure browser to access internet. To manually configure your browser watch instructional video

For IE - broadband users: - Tutorial - Web Shield Proxy Set-up for IE
For IE - dialup users - Tutorial - Web Shield Proxy Set-up for IE (Dial-up)
For Firefox users - Tutorial - Web Shield Proxy Set-up for Firefox
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2006, 11:56:26 AM »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2006, 03:54:26 PM »
Sorry, I can see the image but you would need to translate the text.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2006, 04:28:56 PM »
It's in Bulgarian. It says: Last Error: Can't connect to download42.avast.com

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2006, 05:28:51 PM »
OK that sounds more like a firewall blocking issue, but it could be something else you didn't tell us what version of avast you are using ? 4.7.827 is the current latest build and there have some issues with an earlier build. please let us know, just saying the latest 4.7 version unfortunately doesn't state what build version.

If it is firewall blocking (strange if you have disabled ZA), check the program access in ZA and see if there is an entry for avast.setup. If so delete it and try a manual update, ZA should ask permission for avast.setup, allow access to the internet and see if that resolves the problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

NUCLEAR-TNT

  • Guest
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2006, 08:13:56 PM »
OK. I think It's solved. It connected. Strange why that It didn't connected last days.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86548
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can't connect to the host!
« Reply #12 on: April 30, 2006, 08:35:23 PM »
There have been occasions in the past where ZA's program permissions seems to forget or not apply the permission correctly, even though it has been granted permissions, it could have been that. Thankfully your problem would appear to be resolved.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security