Author Topic: Avast!, MS Outlook 2K3, and MIA attachments  (Read 3356 times)

VunderBob

Avast!, MS Outlook 2K3, and MIA attachments
« on: April 29, 2006, 12:12:59 PM »
I've looked through the posts, and thought I found a relevant one, but it didn't work.

I'm a relative newbie to the world of Avast. I have v4.7 installed on my PC, along with MS Office 2003. Ever since I took the plunge, I have a huge problem sending attachments or embedded graphics in e-mails. Most of the recipients get the dread red  X. This happens when I send to my joke lists; if I send by onesies or so, the graphic or attachment will get through.

I found a thread last night that said something about increasing a timeout value under Internet Mail/Advanced. I popped that sucker up as far as it would go, and I'm still have the same problems. Any help?

This is enough to send me back to Norton AV, because it's better to deal with the b@stard you know, over the one you don't....

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast!, MS Outlook 2K3, and MIA attachments
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 03:23:46 PM »
Note - I'm not an MS Outlook user so I can't give any advice on its workings, etc.

Firstly you shouldn't need to use Internet Mail provider (IMP) if your only email is MS Outlook (not express), you should be using the Outlook/Exchange plug-in. The timeout in IMP would have no effect on MS Outlook. avast doesn't block attachments or embedded images, it just scans the content and attachments and alerts if infected/suspicious.

Are you using the Outlook/Exchange plug-in and if so is it enabled in Outlook ?
Have you tried a forums search for outlook 2003 or 2k3 and see if this has been raised before. There have been a few posts I recollect about Outlook 2003 but I'm unsure if they are related to this issue.