Author Topic: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots  (Read 3853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« on: September 21, 2017, 03:19:41 AM »
I  noticed that in games I cannot take screenshots when avast is active. Most of the time it takes screenshot of a wrong picture (looks like a blank loading screen of the game) or from desktop after I alt+tab a few seconds later. Disabling avast protection temporarily solves the problem.

I use windows+print or lightshot for screenshots.

Currently I am trying to take screenshots in Fortnite from Epic Games.

Taking Screenshots via Steam's own feature works, but it is unusually slow (laggy).

By suspicion is that avast is scanning each file before it is saved correctly.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 05:02:39 AM »
The prnt-scrn button on the keyboard is working fine for me.
The problem with those tools is that they don't grab the screen directly from the GPU.
Let us know if the button is working for you or not.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37614
  • Not a avast user
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2017, 07:05:23 AM »
Have you tried windows own snippig tool ?  >>  https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=snipping+tool





Offline Hried

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2017, 09:57:01 AM »
Hi ptrckbrg,
does re-enabling shields bring the issue back immediately? Could you pinpoint the problem on a one specific shield by turning them off one-by-one? We never heard about this problem before.
Thanks.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2017, 09:38:05 PM »
The easiest way to turn off individual shields is via Settings, 
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2017, 10:12:34 PM »
Hi, thanks for all the help and excuse my late reply!

I just tested it with different settings and it looks like it is a combination of File Shield and Mail Shield. Disabling only one still causes problems.
When both are inactive, I am able to create screenshots with no problems.

I tested taking screenshots with an external tool (lightshot) with windows feature (win+print) and with normal printscr (clipboard).


Again, It always creates a file, but the problematic screenshots are either wrong (generic game screen/default background) or the screen after I alt+tabed back to destop.

Edit: I just did a test with the lightshot app closed, still problems with avast active. Testing Fortnite the Game atm.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2017, 10:56:11 PM by ptrckbrg »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2017, 10:20:54 PM »
Maybe you should give Greenshot a try: http://getgreenshot.org/
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2017, 10:54:22 PM »
Tested more games. Fortnite, Stellaris and Pyre have problems. Sometimes no screenshots are created at all. Other games work without problems. (Slime Rancher, Rimworld, Lotro)

Pyre does not allow screenshots with or without avast enabled.

It is really hard to reproduce some errors, so I am not entirely sure if it has something to do with avast at all. So weird...

I just tried multiple screenshots with avast on and off in stellaris. No success. but then, there it is, an ingame screen.

I give up...

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast creates problems when taking screenshots
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2017, 10:57:16 PM »
Tested more games. Fortnite, Stellaris and Pyre have problems. Sometimes no screenshots are created at all. Other games work without problems. (Slime Rancher, Rimworld, Lotro)

Pyre does not allow screenshots with or without avast enabled.

It is really hard to reproduce some errors, so I am not entirely sure if it has something to do with avast at all. So weird...

I just tried multiple screenshots with avast on and off in stellaris. No success. but then, there it is, an ingame screen.

I give up...
Have you considered that some games may disable that function ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet