Author Topic: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"  (Read 11974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44503
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #15 on: March 28, 2019, 02:53:22 PM »
Hi bob3160 :)
 I do not have anything relating to a kill switch.
Me neither, Bob's screenshot is from a Mac.

Thanks Asyn




Sorry bob3160        I didn't realize your screenshot was from a Mac :-[
Don't feel bad, I didn't either. The screenshot came from the developers forum.
I'll let them know that a fix or option on a Mac isn't going to do us Windows users much good. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67883
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2019, 03:49:53 PM »
I'll let them know that a fix or option on a Mac isn't going to do us Windows users much good. :)
Thanks Bob. :)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.10.2439.Beta#2 [UI.580] - CC 5.74 - EEK - FF ESR 78.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.5 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3681
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2019, 10:34:11 PM »
And we need the .ovpn files to use a different OpenVPN client.

I agree.

And Avast should start with testing the WireGuard VPN protocol as well.
Set up (a) test server(s) for public testing.

Greetz, Red.

OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67883
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2019, 07:45:20 AM »
Hi guys, good news - ASL V5.4 finally includes a kill switch. :)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.10.2439.Beta#2 [UI.580] - CC 5.74 - EEK - FF ESR 78.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.5 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44503
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2019, 03:54:49 PM »
Hi guys, good news - ASL V5.4 finally includes a kill switch. :)
v5.4 must be a beta version. The official download is still version 5.3
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6554
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2019, 05:49:23 PM »
Hi guys, good news - ASL V5.4 finally includes a kill switch. :)
v5.4 must be a beta version. The official download is still version 5.3

Yes Bob, beta version 5.4.468
See Screenshot  :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/Secureline VPN v.5.8.5262b/ADU v.20.2.921b/ASB v.87b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/ADU v.20.2.921b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION

Offline pwnjuice

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2019, 12:35:15 AM »
You can set up a kill switch with in the OS firewall. I have Qbit setup in the firewall to only connect to public network and the avast network adapter set up as public. So if it disconnects the firewall kills the Qbit connection.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6554
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2019, 04:01:21 PM »
You can set up a kill switch with in the OS firewall. I have Qbit setup in the firewall to only connect to public network and the avast network adapter set up as public. So if it disconnects the firewall kills the Qbit connection.

That's fine, however the topic is about the 'Avast Secureline' "Kill Switch" which is included in the latest Secureline (beta) version as the screenshot shows.

Edit
« Last Edit: June 29, 2019, 04:49:30 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/Secureline VPN v.5.8.5262b/ADU v.20.2.921b/ASB v.87b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/ADU v.20.2.921b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44503
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2019, 04:06:02 PM »
You can set up a kill switch with in the OS firewall. I have Qbit setup in the firewall to only connect to public network and the avast network adapter set up as public. So if it disconnects the firewall kills the Qbit connection.

That's fine, however the topic is about the 'Avast Secureline' "Kill Switch" which is included in the latest Secureline version as the screenshot shows.
The latest "beta" version of SecureLine. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6554
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast SecureLine VPN "internet kill switch’"
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2019, 04:11:12 PM »
You can set up a kill switch with in the OS firewall. I have Qbit setup in the firewall to only connect to public network and the avast network adapter set up as public. So if it disconnects the firewall kills the Qbit connection.

That's fine, however the topic is about the 'Avast Secureline' "Kill Switch" which is included in the latest  Secureline (beta) version as the screenshot shows.

Edit

The latest "beta" version of SecureLine. :)

Yes thanks  ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/Secureline VPN v.5.8.5262b/ADU v.20.2.921b/ASB v.87b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.10.2439b/ADU v.20.2.921b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield VPN
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION