Author Topic: Error Message, Avast won't Load  (Read 285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aparrottoaflamingo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Error Message, Avast won't Load
« on: October 12, 2017, 05:15:08 PM »
I have the first pay level of Avast on my PC. 
Today I just got this message at startup (can't start my Avast)

The procedure entry point
?PreCreateWithMsgLoop@SysTrayIcon@systray@common_ui@asw@
@QAE_NPBUS_InitDescriptor@234@HAA_N@Zcould not be located in
The dynamic link library Common UI.dll


Do I need to reload Avast???  I am not a tech person.


Fran

Online Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 33754
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 05:16:39 PM »
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31484
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 05:17:05 PM »
Please (re)search before posting.
There are already threads about this problem.
No need to pollute this webboard by starting a new one if it already is handled.

Offline pcservices

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 08:31:39 PM »
I am seeing the same error but cannot access programs/features because i'm also seeing a 'server execution failure' in Explorer.exe. Is it possible to trigger an Avast Repair Installation from the command line?  I'm running Win7 Home Premium on a Dell XPS 8700.

The server execution failure first occurred on the 10th; the only solution I could find was to do a System Restore back to an Oct. 7th restore point.  All had been well after that until last night when Windows Update restarted after applying this month's patches.  The system started but with the avastui error. Another attempt today to restore to the point prior to the the patches failed citing a file access issue 'probably an antivirus file.' I'm hopeful that clearing the Avast error may give me a shot at cleaning up the other problems.

I'll appreciate any help you can provide.

tom

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31484
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 10:41:59 PM »
Why not perform a real clean installation ?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36303
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 11:05:36 PM »

Repair Avast:
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204


If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline pcservices

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Error Message, Avast won't Load
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 11:46:30 PM »
Hi Eddy & Bob, thanks for the replies.  It dawned on me this afternoon that if I couldn't get to Programs and Features to do a repair install or to do an uninstall for a 'clean install', why not just download a new Avast and do a full install.  Did that and after two "that's embarrassing, UI failed' messages, Avast asked me to reboot.  Rebooted and Avast came back to sit proudly in the systray proclaiming that I am protected - No UI error.

Unfortunately I'm still struggling with the server execution issue and the half-baked system restore(s) and who knows what else, but I wanted to let you and the world know that Avast will do an install on top of itself and apparently 'repair' an installed version.

Thanks again,

tom