Author Topic: Completely crazy master password  (Read 3583 times)

REDACTED

Completely crazy master password
« on: September 16, 2017, 09:25:46 PM »
I've been trying to solve this all the day. From 7.30 am to just now 21.30. I'm a software engineer and still don't know what the heck is going on with this software.

Which is uninstallable
Which is has no error UX of any kind

I had a master password which eventually became lost
I want to reset the vault

Story #1
Following the Avast guidelines I remove the vault with the "Forgot master password" thing.
Avast ignores me and everything stays the same

Story #2
I found that if I remove the Password component and reinstall it then the vault seems removed.
Keeps spinning forever in loading screen

Story #3
Same as #2 but then close Avast. Repair from "Control Panel/Programs". Reboot.
And Avast ignores everything

Story #5
Reinstall Avast
Nope

Story #6
Stop Avast service. Disable Avast startup daemon.
Force clean uninstall with official Avast wizard on Windows Safe Mode.
Clean install Avast from scratch.
Hahahaha... fool of me

Story #7
After aaaaaaall the morning I found out the vault location. Which is under 9000 thousands protections. The final workaround was:
Reboot on safe mode. Remove ProgramData/Avast Software (which contains the vault). Reboot to normal. Reinstall Avast. Go to story #3
Aha! Works. I set my new master password.

Story #8
I then want to sync with my other devices... HAHAHAHAH! Poor fool I was. Login failed for sync. By the way, notice I was already logged, you know, because Avast suite.

Story #9
Repair. Reboot.
Sync login works. Wonderful.
Then Avast asks again for master password... AND FAIL!
What the hell?!
Either Avast forget my master password (which was abc12345678 so I knew I couldn't miss it while trying to set up)
Or... Avast ignores me again and somehow recovery (from I DON'T KNOW MAYBE THE COSMOS) the old vault

Story #10
I'm on the starting point.