Author Topic: New Beta version 17.8.2317  (Read 3039 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3287
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2017, 04:05:53 AM »
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Main: Win10 CU(1703) 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 17 Premier Beta
Mobile: Win10 CU(1703) 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 17 Free / Windows Firewall Notifier
Phone: Android 2.3.4, 4.2.2 / Avast Mobile Security / Avast Anti-Theft

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49465
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #16 on: November 05, 2017, 08:42:00 AM »
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Still happens here. Also multiple entries in the notification center.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2320.Beta#2 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline TheLightgg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #17 on: November 05, 2017, 09:56:01 AM »
After installing a program, Avast takes the initiative to scan all the files that are on my different disks ...

Avast then uses 25% of my CPU (i5 3570k) and it this lasts very very long ...
I did not have this problem with the .2314 version (release version) ...

Can I turn off AVAST's scan of all my disks to see if the problem continues ?

Another problem is that Avast does not purge its data in RAM. After a scan it takes more RAM, it's normal but do not purge after its operations ...
I had this problem once already described on the previous page or Avasr occupied 2 GB of ram ...




« Last Edit: November 05, 2017, 10:02:41 AM by TheLightgg »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 79198
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2017, 11:29:20 AM »
<snip>
Another problem is that Avast does not purge its data in RAM. After a scan it takes more RAM, it's normal but do not purge after its operations ...
I had this problem once already described on the previous page or Avasr occupied 2 GB of ram ...
<snip image>

Though that figure would seem excessive, though if it is scanning all your drives as you say (why I don't know, that isn't normal) it would be using a lot of RAM as that is faster.  It should however drop back down when concluded.

How much RAM have you got ?

I was under the belief that your OS controls RAM usage, there is little point in having RAM if you aren't going to use it.  If another program needs RAM then it will push/release some out to the pagefile on the hard disk.  If that information (RAM) is required it needs to be loaded back into RAM, this swapping back and forwards to the pagefile puts an additional load on your processor and hard disk, this can also effect performance.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 17.8.2318/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.3/ Firefox 52.5.2 ESR, uBlock Origin, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro7.8.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline TheLightgg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2017, 12:33:16 PM »
I have 8 Gb of ram and I have 7 paritions system. Actually the use of RAM by AVAST has diminished by itself, you are right but after a long time...

But I do not understand the interest of scanning disks (randomly?) after any program installation ... Avast does not scan the newly created directory of the new program but scans all over the disk. I can see the input / output paths that avast reads with a program ...

And its excessive use of CPU take time, long time ...

The Operating System controls the management of the ram but the program (in language C for example) can indicate to destroy objects in memory formerly created and not used.
Optimizing the memory management of a process in memory is already done during development by programmers.

And I'm not saying that Avast's development team did a bad job, they are very competent ! :) I explained a clarification on "I was under the belief that your OS controls RAM usage". ;)

Thank you for your explication ^^
« Last Edit: November 05, 2017, 12:36:22 PM by TheLightgg »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 79198
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2017, 02:44:07 PM »
I have 8 Gb of ram and I have 7 paritions system. Actually the use of RAM by AVAST has diminished by itself, you are right but after a long time...

But I do not understand the interest of scanning disks (randomly?) after any program installation ... Avast does not scan the newly created directory of the new program but scans all over the disk. I can see the input / output paths that avast reads with a program ...

And its excessive use of CPU take time, long time ...
<snip>

That certainly isn't normal, I certainly haven't experienced that in the past whilst installing a program, but I'm not running the current beta build on any of these systems.  I have avast free on three systems, XP with two hard drives and multiple partitions, win7 32bit netbook with only one drive and two partitions and a win10 64bit with 1 SSD drive and 1 HDD drive (neither are partitioned).

That said I'm not running the current beta on any of these systems, so I can't say if this a beta related bug.

Did you do a clean install of this beta or update from the program interface ?
You may want to consider restoring factory defaults in the Troubleshooting section of the UI, in case any of your settings are aggressive.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 17.8.2318/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.3/ Firefox 52.5.2 ESR, uBlock Origin, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro7.8.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36341
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2017, 03:20:20 PM »
Not happening on any of my systems and 2 of those systems are old clunkers running Windows 10 (1709)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline J.Bryl

  • Chosen One
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2017, 09:19:54 PM »
Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

You have to disable the webcam shield to bring back the webcam.



Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 36341
  • 57 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2017, 09:23:18 PM »
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1703 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 17.6.2307, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde

Offline J.Bryl

  • Chosen One
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2017, 09:47:29 PM »
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 09:49:25 PM by J.Bryl »

Offline jan.svoboda

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #25 on: November 07, 2017, 08:13:58 AM »
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?

Hi J.Bryl

did you try to close the app between changes of WebCam Shield modes? The application is evaluated when is started. Any changes in WebCam shield settings done during the application is already running and using you webcamera are not reflected to the current session of the application.

Please let me know if it works for you.

Thank you very much.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49465
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #26 on: November 07, 2017, 08:25:54 AM »
We would like to ask you for deeper testing mainly in these areas:
  • Smart scan and performance scan behavior
Regarding Smart-Scan, while compatibility scan is checked in the settings, it doesn't run/show up.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2320.Beta#2 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 49465
  • Merry Christmas..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #27 on: November 07, 2017, 08:33:21 AM »
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Still happens here. Also multiple entries in the notification center.
Update, the bug has been confirmed by the devs.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 17.9.2320.Beta#2 - CC 5.38 [OD] - MCS [OD] - EEK [OD] - FF ESR 52.5.2 [NS5/uBO] - Thunderbird 52.5 [EM]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline J.Bryl

  • Chosen One
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #28 on: November 07, 2017, 06:14:28 PM »
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?

Hi J.Bryl

did you try to close the app between changes of WebCam Shield modes? The application is evaluated when is started. Any changes in WebCam shield settings done during the application is already running and using you webcamera are not reflected to the current session of the application.

Please let me know if it works for you.

Thank you very much.

Yep, I closed the App and open it again and still the same. Btw it's the builtin camera app of Windows 8.1.
I didn't experience it with AVG beta.

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 653
  • Product Manager
Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
« Reply #29 on: November 09, 2017, 09:41:36 AM »
Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

You have to disable the webcam shield to bring back the webcam.




Hi this is happening on Win 8 Metro app full screen right?