Author Topic: Version: 17.8.2318  (Read 56068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zony

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #75 on: November 18, 2017, 02:37:03 AM »
Reinstalled the system windows10 1703 with last update,then installed avast_free_antivirus_setup_offline ver17.8.2318, The next day, i get the information:your license is not valid.but this free antivirus.
The same system environment:windows10 X64 pro 1703 with last update. and comodo firewall 10.0.2.6396 installed.
then Install avast_free_antivirus  ver17.7.3660.0,This did not happen。then direct upgrade  to ver17.8.2318, "Your license is not valid" appearing again.There is a clear difference between the two versions.
After several attempts,should be to solve the problem:allow C:\Windows\System32\taskhostw.exe modify the following registry:
HKUS\*\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\MY
HKUS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Cryptography\CertificateTemplateCache
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\MY
 "Your license is not valid" did not happen.

Offline zony

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #76 on: November 18, 2017, 02:52:26 AM »
another question:the behavior shleld  warn  C:\Windows\System32\consent.exe, This phenomenon only occurs in windows10 1709 x64 pro,In the windows10 1703 x64 pro is nothing.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #77 on: November 18, 2017, 12:38:28 PM »
Thanks for your tips! I had made these attempts also initially, but without any success. Seemingly the Avast "core" program maintains it's own hidden agenda for blocking certain things when all shields are switched off. Rgds.

After installation of this new release, Firefox (52.5.0ers) does not start up any more although remarkably it does appear in the Task Manager's process list (WinXP SP3). Suspending Avast for 10 minutes Firefox does start up successfully, but only after killing firefox.exe from the processlist first. Have reinstalled both Avast and Firefox, but without anysuccess.

Does Firefox start in Safe Mode (hold down Shift key and then start Firefox)?  Can you try to temporarily disable each Avast "shield" (Settings -> Components) to see which is causing the problem?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #78 on: November 18, 2017, 12:45:15 PM »
It may be risky but you could consider a fresh installation by first deleting program Avast, then run 'avastclear' (download) an then dowload and install the latest release. Success!


Good to know that some people have been able to update. Since I'm not able to update to the newer version, what do I do next? I worry about remaining vulnerable to all the issues that have been fixed in this new versions -- which I'm not able to avail.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #79 on: November 18, 2017, 09:37:45 PM »
Bug Report:

I had to deactivate the Emergency Update in Windows' schedules tasks, because for the past two or three versions of the program, everytime an Emergency Update takes place, I have to completely re-install Avast (by using Avast Clear in Safe Mode) as the User Interface no longer responds (i.e., right-clicking the icon and selecting any task does nothing, and double-clicking the shortcut doesn't bring the UI up, either).

A repair of the program doesn't fix the issue. You simply no longer can use the program and are forced to re-install it.

P.S. I am using Avast Free Antivirus.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47246
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #80 on: November 18, 2017, 09:46:57 PM »
Bug Report:

I had to deactivate the Emergency Update in Windows' schedules tasks, because for the past two or three versions of the program, everytime an Emergency Update takes place, I have to completely re-install Avast (by using Avast Clear in Safe Mode) as the User Interface no longer responds (i.e., right-clicking the icon and selecting any task does nothing, and double-clicking the shortcut doesn't bring the UI up, either).

A repair of the program doesn't fix the issue. You simply no longer can use the program and are forced to re-install it.

P.S. I am using Avast Free Antivirus.
You right click the system tray icon to bring up the following menu:

You use a single left click to open the User Interface.
In many instances, a repair fixes the problem. Occasionally you need to use the Clean Install procedure.

Repair Avast:
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204

If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline Dix Huit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #81 on: November 19, 2017, 08:07:18 PM »
Thanks for your tips! I had made these attempts also initially, but without any success. Seemingly the Avast "core" program maintains it's own hidden agenda for blocking certain things when all shields are switched off. Rgds.

After installation of this new release, Firefox (52.5.0ers) does not start up any more although remarkably it does appear in the Task Manager's process list (WinXP SP3). Suspending Avast for 10 minutes Firefox does start up successfully, but only after killing firefox.exe from the processlist first. Have reinstalled both Avast and Firefox, but without anysuccess.

Does Firefox start in Safe Mode (hold down Shift key and then start Firefox)?  Can you try to temporarily disable each Avast "shield" (Settings -> Components) to see which is causing the problem?

You're welcome, but it doesn't seem to have helped. :(  My Avast and Firefox work together without any problems on Windows XP, so I would guess something strange is going on in memory rather then Avast deliberately blocking Firefox.  The problem might disappear after the next update.  For now one idea would be to have Firefox start up when you boot the computer - it might have time to get to the critical stage before Avast is completely loaded.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #82 on: November 20, 2017, 04:45:57 AM »
Just booted my PC and it has upgraded Avast Internet Security
Now no shields are active
Attempting to activate them asks me to basically uninstall any other anti-virus software
So now basically I have paid for something that doesn't work!!!!!
Before I just got a warning
Now Avast wants me to trust that they are the best, there NOT..........
No one is............
FYI - I also run Malwarebytes (licensed) and a couple of specific anti-malware/rootkit software.
Raised a ticket, don't expect any help at all beyond "trust us and install everything else"
Will give them a few days to respond before I cancel my subscription, it runs until next year as I just renewed it, more fool me as it will probably be impossible to get a refund.....
After 30+ years in IT including security this sort of "force the users" behaviour I abhor, Microsoft are bad enough without others following them.
 

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76213
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #83 on: November 20, 2017, 04:48:13 AM »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #84 on: November 20, 2017, 11:32:15 AM »
I'm not talking about running a scan
No Avast shield is active and to enable them requires taking Avast out of "Passive Mode"
Until todays update, I could still activate the shields without going out of passive mode.

What Avast have done is to make it a choice, Avast or Malwarebytes, I have been running both together for years with no issues.
So looks like its goodbye to Avast.

 

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11160
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #85 on: November 20, 2017, 11:37:52 AM »
I'm not talking about running a scan
No Avast shield is active and to enable them requires taking Avast out of "Passive Mode"
Until todays update, I could still activate the shields without going out of passive mode.

What Avast have done is to make it a choice, Avast or Malwarebytes, I have been running both together for years with no issues.
So looks like its goodbye to Avast.
Is Malwarebytes registered in the Windows Security Centre? if it is then try selecting don't register and place all the exclusions Asyn posted a link too so that Avast doesn't see Malwarebytes.

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1062
  • Product Manager
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #86 on: November 20, 2017, 11:50:47 AM »
I'm not talking about running a scan
No Avast shield is active and to enable them requires taking Avast out of "Passive Mode"
Until todays update, I could still activate the shields without going out of passive mode.

What Avast have done is to make it a choice, Avast or Malwarebytes, I have been running both together for years with no issues.
So looks like its goodbye to Avast.
Is Malwarebytes registered in the Windows Security Centre? if it is then try selecting don't register and place all the exclusions Asyn posted a link too so that Avast doesn't see Malwarebytes.

Yes that's a bug, you shouldn't be switched to Passive mode during update. We will look into the issue. The solution for your situation is to Turn off the Passive mode and restart PC. Then it will work as usual. Sorry for the trouble.

Offline zony

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #87 on: November 21, 2017, 01:56:46 AM »
Reinstalled the system windows10 1703 with last update,then installed avast_free_antivirus_setup_offline ver17.8.2318, The next day, i get the information:your license is not valid.but this free antivirus.
The same system environment:windows10 X64 pro 1703 with last update. and comodo firewall 10.0.2.6396 installed.
then Install avast_free_antivirus  ver17.7.3660.0,This did not happen。then direct upgrade  to ver17.8.2318, "Your license is not valid" appearing again.There is a clear difference between the two versions.
After several attempts,should be to solve the problem:allow C:\Windows\System32\taskhostw.exe modify the following registry:
HKUS\*\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\MY
HKUS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Cryptography\CertificateTemplateCache
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\MY
 "Your license is not valid" did not happen.
Also need to allow taskhostw.exe to call TiWorker.exe

Offline mantiss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #88 on: November 21, 2017, 02:43:58 PM »
Remote Desktop is broken for me following Update.  It took me a few days to realize that it was Avast (specifically the Firewall component) that was the issue.
As you can see I have configured the firewall rules to enable and allow remote desktop connections.



Yet despite settings, I have to turn off the firewall altogether in order for RDC to work again.

(P.S. Where's image attachment option for these posts, only has insert image, which... well you see--or not!)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 02:50:10 PM by mantiss »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47246
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW Version: 17.8.2318
« Reply #89 on: November 21, 2017, 02:45:32 PM »
Remote Desktop is broken for me following Update.  It took me a few days to realize that it was Avast (specifically the Firewall component) that was the issue.
As you can see I have configured the firewall rules to enable and allow remote desktop connections.


Yet despite settings, I have to turn off the firewall altogether in order for RDC to work again.
Is your firewall setting set to public or private ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://