Author Topic: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working  (Read 2670 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« on: November 12, 2017, 03:44:44 PM »
Hello, installed Win 10 Fall Creators Update with no issue. But after installing Avast 17.8.3705 (as well as earlier version), the start menu no longer works. This did not appear right away, it took a few hours before it to stop working. Uninstalling Avast, the problem is solved. Have seen many people reporting start menu issues on W10 FCU, but only a few attributed it to their AV (Panda, Avast, etc). Logging out then in, temporarily resolves it. Is this a known issue with Avast and W10 FCU in some systems?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2017, 02:06:38 AM »
running windows 10 pro x64 fall creators update here, i dont see any problem with avast
avast is running good as it should be.

download a new installer and clean install.


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47411
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 01:52:15 PM »

Repair Avast:
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204


If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 05:18:51 PM »
Followed the instructions in the Clean Install, continued to have problems with Start Menu, Taskbar, Settings disappearing, did a reinstall of W10 FCU then clean install of Avast, STILL ended up with the problem back with the Start Menu.

Problem occurred for the last time when Avast decided to block a benign exe that it had been permitting for two days.

Fortunately in one of these go around I'd dropped a shortcut to Programs And Features on the desktop so I had a way to remove it.

Have been satisfied with Avast, but I've had to uninstall it and look for other solutions - there is something wrong in the interaction between Avast and FCU.


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47411
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2017, 05:28:17 PM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2017, 05:56:24 PM »
Thanks for the link. I've already viewed that article and run many of the steps described there at various stages in the troubleshooting.

I've run the two PowerShell scripts as instructed, User Manager service is running, I've tried MS Start Menu Troubleshooter.

I've reinstalled W10 FCU twice.

Running "Driver Talent" makes me uncomfortable. Haven't done that, but I have used Dell's tool for updating drivers on their Latitude business laptops with no change.

Creating a new Administrator account is time consuming when you consider the number of configurations and customizations associated with user accounts.

I'm afraid at this point my best way forward is probably going to be to try a different AV product and see if the symptoms return.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2017, 08:36:37 AM »
HI amenx

I just recently was getting same problem after I did  a Reset 3 days ago.

I used option 1 and so far have had no more problems with start menu since .

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/49963-use-sign-info-auto-finish-after-update-restart-windows-10-a.html


Offline SugarD-x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Proud Avast! User
    • Clan Xperience
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2017, 08:00:52 PM »
Ahahahaha...thank you, OP! I just realized that my problem stopped happening after uninstalling Avast! Home Edition due to an incompatibility with one of the Windows 10 Insider Preview builds that was causing a GSOD. Prior to that, I was having the problem you were describing, and it was driving me absolutely insane! I haven't seen the issue pop up since then, which means Avast! was the culprit after all! Hopefully both of these issues can be resolved before the next release build of Windows 10 comes out so I can reinstall Avast! again.

Edit: Just for reference, I tried many of the "solutions" suggested by Microsoft and users across the internet, all to no avail. I've also noticed that issues I was having with my secondary hard drive often getting stuck at 100% usage during the time this Start menu bug was active have also ceased. This definitely seems to be on Avast!'s end for me.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 08:03:41 PM by SugarD-x »
~SugarD-x~

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47411
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2017, 09:11:21 PM »
@SugarD-x,
If this were an Avast problem, this forum would be bombarded with complaints.
There may be an incompatibility with something you have running on your system.
I have 4 windows 10 systems. Three are 64 bit, one is 32 bit. 2 are pro and 2 are home versions.
There aren't any problems running Avast Free and Windows 10 v1709 here.
Have you tried a clean install of both Windows and Avast ???
(Something I needed to do on the 32 bit system)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline SugarD-x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Proud Avast! User
    • Clan Xperience
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2017, 10:32:10 PM »
bob3160, I'm running Insider Preview builds. I'm suspecting that the GSOD issue that several others have described on the later builds is probably semi-related to this problem. Yes, I've reinstalled Windows from scratch, however I am unable to rule out Avast as being a problem or not because the GSOD problem causes me to be unable to use my system while Avast is installed under these builds. (That is a separate issue that many Insider Preview users have reported). I wish I could confirm this either way, but unfortunately I'm unable to at this time.

That being said, with Avast not installed, I haven't had this pop up once yet.
~SugarD-x~

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47411
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2017, 10:36:11 PM »
bob3160, I'm running Insider Preview builds. I'm suspecting that the GSOD issue that several others have described on the later builds is probably semi-related to this problem. Yes, I've reinstalled Windows from scratch, however I am unable to rule out Avast as being a problem or not because the GSOD problem causes me to be unable to use my system while Avast is installed under these builds. (That is a separate issue that many Insider Preview users have reported). I wish I could confirm this either way, but unfortunately I'm unable to at this time.

That being said, with Avast not installed, I haven't had this pop up once yet.
Insider previews aren't  supported.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline SugarD-x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • Proud Avast! User
    • Clan Xperience
Re: Avast + W10 FCU = Start menu not working
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2017, 01:06:17 AM »
From the other topic:

May I ask why? Wouldn't it make sense to test this so any issues caused by changes to Windows that affect Avast could be resolved? I've been using Avast for years, and I find this a bit silly. I understand that developers can't exactly test every single build themselves, but to have public input would make sense...even if done through the beta boards.

:P
~SugarD-x~