Author Topic: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly  (Read 17201 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline paraotaku

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« on: November 27, 2017, 02:14:41 PM »
Iv noticed recently that Avast Service is constantly using 15-30% of my CPU. Its never done this before, it worries me because Avast used to be very resource friendly. Did the last update cause this?

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 08:43:15 PM »
Noticed the same after I upgraded to version 17.8.2318 (build 17.8.3705.240) that Avast now constantly utilise around 30-35% of the CPU and it's not scanning or doing anything productive or at least not what I can see from the GUI...

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 227
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2017, 11:07:48 AM »
Can you please dump the AvastSvc.exe process using Task Manager and provide dump file?

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2017, 12:37:22 PM »
Tried with both regular and admin user and AvastSvc.exe doesn't allow me to do a dump file. Tried with other processes where there isn't any problem to perform this task. Any specific settings that needs to be changed for Avast for this to work out?

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 227
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2017, 12:41:45 PM »
Ah sorry, you need to disable self-defense first.

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2017, 02:35:42 PM »
Okay, next question, where would I upload this 502MB compressed file?

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 227
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2017, 02:52:37 PM »

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 227
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2017, 03:23:36 PM »
Thank you khavusr, according to dump you provided Software Cleanup engine (SWCUEngine.dll) ate over 3 hours of your CPU time. Will contact developer responsible for SWCU.

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2017, 04:18:38 PM »
Ok. Fair to mention that this occured after that I upgraded to the mentioned version this Sunday afternoon. But, hope that this helps and don't hesitate to comeback if you need to collect additional information or perform som tests.

Offline khavusr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2017, 01:42:09 PM »
Any update on this topic?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2017, 07:54:03 AM »
Update your VPS and reboot. Better now..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Spec8472

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 227
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2017, 09:17:14 AM »
Any update on this topic?
Not fixed yet, I'll let you know once issue is resolved

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66954
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2017, 09:30:18 AM »
Any update on this topic?
Not fixed yet, I'll let you know once issue is resolved
Wasn't it fixed with the SWCUEngine update to V12.1.153.0 yesterday..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2430.BUC [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline paddy_bowen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Why is Avast Service using the CPU constantly
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2017, 11:02:08 AM »
I am also experiencing large CPU usage by Avast - it says it is the Behaviour Shield which is constantly using around 50% of CPU, even when I am doing nothing else. I am new to these things so tell me what info I need to provide.
Version is 17.8.2318 (Build 17.8.3705.249)
Running Windows 10. Browser is Chrome
Active Subscription to Avast Internet Security
Paddy