Author Topic: Avast started moving our EXE file to virus chest / Avast UI is a black blob  (Read 6053 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
This problem started 2-3 weeks ago. For various reasons, we are still running Windows XP SP3 on one PC. We have a CCPData.exe file which gathers various data from online sites,  according to parameters we send it from Windows scheduler, e.g. "CCPData GetGBPEURRate" will get the latest GBP/EUR exchange rate. We update the .exe file from time to time. We noticed that it suddenly stopped performing the tasks we were asking it to do. We eventually found that CCPData.exe was 'disappearing' from its folder, and was not in the Recycle bin. After discounting hard disk problems and malware, we have today discovered that Avast believes it is infected with virus IDP.Generic, even though MalwareBytes and TotalAV had checked it ok. I managed to find the Avast Virus Chest and study the index.xml in there. So, to get around this problem, it seems that we need to declare an exception for CCPData.exe to Avast. However, we are seriously hampered by the second part of this posting: the Avast UI is a black blob on screen. This behaviour started at about the same time as the first problem. We have tried the Avast Repair option several times, with no luck. Avast software, engine and virus defs are up to date. I would be grateful for any help fixing the 'black blob UI' problem, because I hope I can then solve the 'disappearing .exe. file' problem.
(This is my first posting and I have some evidential files/images but don't know how to post them)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Hi Asyn
Thanks, but it's not the "Avast Service failed to load" problem. The services are running, and by right-clicking on the Avast icon and selecting "User interface", the black square UI background blob loads ...  but with nothing else visible, so I can't use it. I wish I knew how to upload a screen shot for you.
I have reported the false positive, as you suggested, thanks again.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2017, 03:37:18 PM by stuarts2 »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48692
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Have you tried this:

Repair Avast:
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204

If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Hi bob3160,
Thanks, yes I have tried Repair 4 or 5 times, no difference. It looks like an uninstall/reinstall may be the only solution <sigh> Will try it and report back.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48692
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Hi bob3160,
Thanks, yes I have tried Repair 4 or 5 times, no difference. It looks like an uninstall/reinstall may be the only solution <sigh> Will try it and report back.
It's really easy to do and only takes a few minutes. :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37639
  • F-Secure user
Quote
After discounting hard disk problems and malware, we have today discovered that Avast believes it is infected with virus IDP.Generic, even though MalwareBytes and TotalAV had checked it ok
Do you have more then one AV installed?


REDACTED

  • Guest
Pondus,
Thanks but only Avast installed.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Well peeps, I followed your advice to uninstall and reinstall, which took over 2 hours to do so. After rebooting in Windows safe mode, the first uninstall via Control Panel (Add/Remove programs) loaded the Avast uninstall process, but near the end hung up for ages at 99% CPU when trying to delete the firewall dll avfwFW (or similar, I can't remember, I am now brain-dead). I had to kill it with Task Manager.  Avast was then apparently not registered as installed via Control Panel, CCleaner, PerfectUninstall, but I knew it was.  Another safe mode reboot. Tried to uninstall using the downloaded Avast Uninstall Utility. It became stuck in exactly the same place at 99% CPU, and again I had to kill it with Task Manager. Another safe mode reboot. Apparently not registered as installed via Control Panel, CCleaner, PerfectUninstall, but I knew it was. I ran CCleaner to repair the registry, and two orphaned Avast entries were reported, I told CCleaner to delete them. Another safe mode reboot, and I retried the Avast Uninstall Utility. This time, it stuck in the same place, but only with around 25% CPU ... and after 5 minutes, it reported a complete uninstall (but said some of the files would be left behind). Some more checks with CCleaner and PerfectUninstall, which seemed clean, and I made another safe mode reboot to try the installation. Which went well, even if it took a tedious 30 minutes or so. Another reboot into normal mode this time, and I tried to load the UI. NOPE, exactly the same as before. The UI service is running, and it "works", but only for limited options. This was working fine until 2-3 weeks ago, so please don't say it's an XP issue. And I don't have this problem with any other software on that PC.
Analysis (Avast version is 17.8.2318):
- click on the Avast icon on desktop or task bar -> a big black useless rectangle. That's it.
The following actions were attempted by right-clicking on the taskbar Avast icon:
- Avast UI -> a big black useless rectangle.
- Shields control -> Ok, this has its own small dialogue box.
- Silent mode -> Ok, this just toggles something on/off so I see the tick/check on/off.
- Virus chest -> a big black useless rectangle.
- Update -> a big black rectangle, yay! with a few options displayed!
- Offline mode -> Ok, this has its own small dialogue box.
- Subscription -> a big black rectangle, yay! with a few options displayed!
- About  -> a big black rectangle, yay! with a few options displayed!
So, I know I definitely cannot see the Virus Chest, but I do not know what other facilities I cannot see, because, um, I cannot see them.

** Avast, please fix this, αμέσως. It seems to be a coding problem with the video mode, or perhaps z-index, or modal display. Avast is more or less unusable without being able to see and use the UI. **
« Last Edit: December 15, 2017, 08:18:46 PM by stuarts2 »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
I have reported the false positive, as you suggested, thanks again.
You're welcome.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast started moving our EXE file to virus chest / Avast UI is a black blob
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2017, 10:28:45 AM »
This is *not* the Avast "UI service failed to load" black screen. This the UI running, but not displaying the foreground items (text, buttons, boxes etc). Has no one else experienced this problem? Screen shots above.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 10:30:33 AM by stuarts2 »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 10:58:39 AM by Asyn »
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Aditza

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Avast started moving our EXE file to virus chest / Avast UI is a black blob
« Reply #12 on: December 18, 2017, 05:44:09 PM »
This is *not* the Avast "UI service failed to load" black screen. This the UI running, but not displaying the foreground items (text, buttons, boxes etc). Has no one else experienced this problem? Screen shots above.

check the video drivers and update them (if possible), update DirectX too or DISABLE graphics hardware acceleration (see below)

i think i encountered this problem before, the Avast UI is using hardware acceleration if the driver reports it is available but then Avast tries to use hardware acceleration features that are not actually supported by the local DirectX version or the video driver and the result is the black interface...

to disable hardware acceleration in Windows XP:
Start > Control Panel > Display > Settings tab > Advanced > Troubleshoot
Move the Hardware Acceleration slider to None.
Click Apply and then click OK to accept the new setting, close the dialog box.
OK to close the Display Properties dialog box.
Restart Windows.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 05:49:17 PM by Aditza »

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast started moving our EXE file to virus chest / Avast UI is a black blob
« Reply #13 on: December 18, 2017, 06:43:29 PM »
Hi Asyn, I downloaded and ran the Avast Support Tool as suggested, and it sent the results off somewhere. But there were two FAILS (see images) - it said it couldn't detect my Avast version number, nor my subscription status. I include a screenshot of my version number (via Control Panel), plus a screenshot of the partial UI waiting endlessly to get the subscription.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast started moving our EXE file to virus chest / Avast UI is a black blob
« Reply #14 on: December 18, 2017, 07:09:58 PM »
Hi Aditza, I tried your suggestions, but it did not help, thanks anyway :( I updated ATI FireGL V3100 drivers from 6.14.10.6451 24-6-2004 to 8.163.1.0 9-9-2005, and installed DirectX 9.0. Those were the last versions I could find online for this video card and XP version. I also tried turning Hardware Acceleration off. Each time, I restarted the PC but the Avast UI behaved in the same way. No other software on this PC is behaving like this. Is there any way to find out whether Avast have changed their video/display coding in the last couple of weeks?