Author Topic: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do  (Read 16615 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline daftshadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2018, 06:51:29 AM »
Bumping, just got the warning message from Avast today and recommended to move the file to virus chest which I did.

Is it confirmed SIHClient.exe is a false positive?

Offline aroned

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2018, 07:34:29 AM »
I just had the same problem. Popped up when I was playing a MS Game.
Threat name IDP.Generic
Infected File SIHClient.exe
Location C:\Windoes\System32
I put it in the virus Chest but Is it a necessary file?

Offline Gavod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2018, 10:49:59 AM »
Just to say we've just had the same report from AVG on one of our Windows 10 PCs.

Offline 45rpm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2018, 01:00:43 PM »
I have the same problem.

I have had a warning from Avast.  My question is: should I move to virus chest or not ?

If someone could explain how to insert an image, I will post a screenshot.

Thanks

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83552
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2018, 03:18:28 PM »
@ 45rpm
When replying, just below the text window is the 'Attachments and other options' click that to expand and attach the image.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline 45rpm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2018, 04:05:41 PM »
@ 45rpm

When replying, just below the text window is the 'Attachments and other options' click that to expand and attach the image.

I can see the icon to "insert image".  But when I click on that, it inserts "img /img" surrounded by square brackets.  I don't know how to get my image into the post.  I've tried cut&paste and control-V.  Nothing works for me.

Offline 45rpm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2018, 04:14:53 PM »
OK found it

Offline 45rpm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #22 on: June 13, 2018, 04:17:09 PM »
so the question remains: Do we move to virus chest or create exception?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83552
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #23 on: June 13, 2018, 07:42:53 PM »
As you can see from previous posts, it is recommended to upload to virustotal.com and have it scanned again (it may well show older scans, it is best to have it scanned afresh).  Then post the link to the results as others have.

What options are shown in the More Options dropdown menu ?
If there is one to send to the avast virus labs, I would do that also.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline daftshadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83552
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast has put SIHClient.exe into virus chest - what should I do
« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2018, 06:49:53 PM »
It is certainly looking that way, however if this detection was by the avast behaviour shield, that doesn't actually run on on the scan by Virus Total.

If you have this file in the virus chest, you should submit it to avast for analysis.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.544/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro