Author Topic: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)  (Read 6619 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline -Lex-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« on: May 31, 2006, 07:53:53 AM »
Hi,

I have a problem with Avast! Home latest build. I cant scan folders which contains russian symbols. I got error message about Avast! can't find that folder. And this situation is common for English and Russian versions of Avast!
Can someone comment? What does it mean?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11764
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2006, 10:06:41 AM »
For avast! to work correctly in non-English environment, the system locale (or more specifically, the setting in Control Panel / Regional Settings / Advanced / Language for non-Unicode programs) should be set accordingly - i.e. to Russian in your case.

Offline -Lex-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2006, 03:58:22 PM »
It's set to Russian by default as I use russian version of Wiindows. There was no that bug in the previouse version.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11764
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2006, 04:25:33 PM »
Can you post a screenshot of the file/folder you are trying to scan? (picture of Explorer with the opened context menu for the selected file/folder)
Thanks.

Offline -Lex-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2006, 06:25:16 PM »
Try to create new task with the name in Russian



Then try to add folder with Russian name



So we have a folder to scan with the russian name



And if I try to run it i got error message and a lot of broken symbols (it’s not a russian).

So I can’t scan folders with russian name and also task information is corrupted.

Avast 4.7.857 Eng and Rus versions
Windows 2000 Prof, Win XP

« Last Edit: May 31, 2006, 06:27:20 PM by -Lex- »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11764
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2006, 08:06:36 PM »
The corruption of the task names was caused by a bug in the recent version.
Please try to update the program (a new version was released just now) - it should solve some, or maybe all, of your problems.

Offline -Lex-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with scanning (Russian symbols)
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2006, 11:09:18 PM »
Thanx, Igor, it seems to be working now!