Author Topic: Invalid page fault  (Read 12494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alamal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Invalid page fault
« on: December 28, 2003, 02:19:51 PM »
Every time I make an attempt to scan a file my Avast 4  lastest edition causes an invalid page fault.
It's ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault in module unknown at 0000:1b10ec7d

Why is this happening and how can I let it scan without getting these faults?

Also, after this happens I can't access the Avast Interface.

Thanks and God bless,
Peter

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2003, 03:15:24 PM »
Sorry if I cannot help you on this... Anyway, if nobody answers you, see this related forum of page fault.  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2003, 03:33:31 PM »
It's becoming an annoing thing...
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2003, 03:35:07 PM »
The original page fault (in ashQuick) seems to occur within the Microsoft JET drivers.
I would recommend to update these drivers - you can download the latest MDAC package from http://www.microsoft.com/data

Another possibility would be switching the database from ODBC to XML in avast4.ini file...
« Last Edit: December 28, 2003, 03:36:03 PM by igor »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2003, 03:39:16 PM »
Igor, what is my error related to?
It does not seem to concern with ODBC and XML  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2003, 05:16:30 PM »
Technical: I'm afraid I don't know in this case.
When did this error occurred - any particular operation? Is it reproducible?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2003, 10:29:10 PM »
Technical, I thought you were running Windows XP. This doesn't look like an error message from an XP system to me, though... ???
« Last Edit: December 28, 2003, 10:29:24 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2003, 12:58:22 AM »
Technical, I thought you were running Windows XP. This doesn't look like an error message from an XP system to me, though... ???

Disappointed  :-\
Of course I am at a XP system, or better, XP Pro SP1 fully updated and that was a avast! error message in Portuguese. I cannot reproduce that error, but never mind it does not appear again.

Vlk, if it helps, I'm using myIE2 as browser and not IE  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline r_du_neuf_trois

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • RNR will never die.
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2003, 06:26:40 PM »
This message "memory at address xxxx couldn't be read" occurs on my system when I try to shutdown my printer's desktop interface.
It seems to be related to a task trying to read a part of the memory which is locked by another task. Don't ask me why memory couldn't be read, it's a nonsense.
I searched the web and read a lot of articles, without success. Microsoft doesn't ever mention this message on their web sites.
Unfortunately, I didn't see any solution other than reinstalling XP, and I can't assure you it works as I never tried.
Regards

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5087
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2003, 08:28:28 PM »
Vlk that shot of tech's PC is XP. Xp can look like the old Win 98 if you set it to in the desktop themes
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2003, 12:59:55 AM »
Vlk that shot of tech's PC is XP. Xp can look like the old Win 98 if you set it to in the desktop themes

He he, it is a little bit more complicated Mac  ;D
I'm using Desktop Architect and some messages (especially the error messages) 'come back' my XP system back to Windows 98 view.
The common use is very nice, although  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5087
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2003, 01:36:03 AM »
that goes to sho how littile I know of Windows.  :-[   I know more about Mac
« Last Edit: December 30, 2003, 01:36:19 AM by MacLover2000 »
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2003, 01:43:37 AM »
that goes to sho how littile I know of Windows.  :-[   I know more about Mac

Don't worry. Your Mac must look better that my PC. I always listen that Mac have a better looking than PC. So you are not loosing anything  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2003, 09:12:09 AM »
I was just wondering -- MacLover, how do you (or all you guys at MacWorld) see the future of Macs in the server arena? (I'm talking about Xserve and its descendants)

It seems like a very nice box but is it really worth the money? And are the apps for desktop Macs and server Macs cross-compatible?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5087
Re:Invalid page fault
« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2003, 02:05:09 AM »
actually MOST products are cross-compatible but the system requirements are diffrent for the software.  Our Opinion is that the Mac Server will NEVER pass the windows server world as far as the number of units in operation. But the desktops very well may as many windows users dont like all of the security flaws and that you have to updrade every year.  Apple servers also have the most storage  capacity the biggest model holds 2.52 Terabytes!(makes my mouth water ;D) Very well worth the money. our review is found below
http://www.macworld.com/2003/09/reviews/252tbxserveraid/
anton is our server expert so he wrote the review not me
« Last Edit: December 31, 2003, 02:27:46 AM by MacLover2000 »
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay