Author Topic: Does avast detect adware here or only in PUP-mode?  (Read 285 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30604
  • malware fighter
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 34678
Re: Does avast detect adware here or only in PUP-mode?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 04:34:07 PM »
Your file scan is 4 months old  >  Analysis date:   2017-10-15 08:56:24 UTC ( 4 months ago )

Have you tried doing a fresh scan?    Yea I know I am a fresh scan nag   ;D

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 34678
Re: Does avast detect adware here or only in PUP-mode?
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 04:44:40 PM »
Since you use old VT there is no rescan button, so here is how to do it

Copy the SHA from top of your file scan result (not url scan), then go to new VT  www.virustotal.com   click search tab and paste in SHA then search

When result show, click the blue button at top right and select rescan and you get fresh result   Last analysis   2018-02-13 15:43:14 UTC   ;)

https://www.virustotal.com/#/file/8dad97c222995e9dcf779dbbbc4c1b0d5b97c0051d75edc18e96f62880210698/detection

« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 05:00:20 PM by Pondus »
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline polonus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 30604
  • malware fighter
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 34678
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2561
Re: Does avast detect adware here or only in PUP-mode?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2018, 05:22:36 PM »
Hi Pondus,

Latest: https://www.virustotal.com/nl/url/69a65ddbb26ab63b0fa340274d1fae7442a3eccacfe03bcad67cf7fbb54f137e/analysis/1518536670/
and https://www.virustotal.com/nl/file/8dad97c222995e9dcf779dbbbc4c1b0d5b97c0051d75edc18e96f62880210698/analysis/1518536594/

pol
Why does your VT link always show the old VT interface ?

I can only guess it has to do with the /nl/ at the end. Different webpage that may not have been fully translated and updated yet.

Edit: Google (Alphabet Inc.) owns VT? I had no idea.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 05:25:32 PM by Michael (alan1998) »
2nd Year Computer Science Student.  *David Starkey*

Virus/Malware Help: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=4.0
http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/
https://uniteagainstmalware.com/

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 34678
Re: Does avast detect adware here or only in PUP-mode?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2018, 05:25:12 PM »
Yepp

This goes to new  www.virustotal.com

This goes to old  www.virustotal.com/en

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.