Author Topic: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update  (Read 19592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mitchkebie@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #30 on: March 20, 2018, 04:10:56 PM »

-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=215874.msg1453882#msg1453882

Side note: It can't get fixed if nobody is willing to help...
[/quote]

Yeah, its a bummer the people at Avast won't help us. But seriously, I understand but I have gone through weeks or trying multiple things (per request of people on the forums, and through their tech support). Nothing has worked.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46606
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #31 on: March 20, 2018, 04:17:18 PM »

-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=215874.msg1453882#msg1453882

Side note: It can't get fixed if nobody is willing to help...

Yeah, its a bummer the people at Avast won't help us. But seriously, I understand but I have gone through weeks or trying multiple things (per request of people on the forums, and through their tech support). Nothing has worked.
You've sent in the requested information to Avast ??? When ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #32 on: March 21, 2018, 08:46:35 AM »
Hello,
to resolve the issue we need few information about wow-64.exe process creation.
Procmon log is a very good start point which would help us.   
 
« Last Edit: March 21, 2018, 08:53:17 AM by kwiq »

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #33 on: March 21, 2018, 09:58:33 AM »
Hello,
and again I hope now as avast team member :-)
to resolve the issue we need few information about wow-64.exe process creation.
Procmon log is a very good start point which would help us.   

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73605
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #34 on: March 21, 2018, 10:04:49 AM »
Hello, and again I hope now as avast team member :-)
Unfortunately not, but I can confirm it. :)

Edit: Fixed now. 8)
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 10:43:04 AM by Asyn »
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6903.IBC [UI.690] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.15 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.89
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

mitchkebie@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #35 on: March 27, 2018, 04:36:28 PM »
Everyone just uninstalled Avast and moved to BitDefender. If you figure it out let us know. Also, other software is being blocked as well (Discord, several VNC softwares, etc).

pcfixerhough@yahoo.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #36 on: May 05, 2018, 01:42:08 AM »
What people have decided to do is just uninstall Avast and request a refund. I have called into their tech support, they had me uninstall Avast to see if that helped (and it did!), then we reinstalled and it broke multiple software again. I'm done dealing with this.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=215874.msg1453882#msg1453882

Side note: It can't get fixed if nobody is willing to help...

Since you worked so hard to respond to my post in the last beta thread by pointing back to this thread with the message about procman and uploading it to the ftp site, I just want to point out that it's hard to upload to a site without a working address.  I tried using ftp.avast.com in a browser window, it acts like my world of warcraft game if I don't load it soon enough after booting my computer, just sits there spinning until it times out.  I ended up downloading filezilla and tried with that, the upload gets 10% through and then errors out.  Compressed the two files are 205MB, one is from 3 minutes of loading and failing to load and the other is from 30 seconds when it did load.  I'm starting to think this is a joke, why wouldn't they have a file submission page to make it so that customers wouldn't have to jump through these hoops?  It's a good thing I remembered that filezilla likes to install crapware during it's install, at least I didn't end up with that on my system.

I know working tech support can be a thankless job, I used to do it, not once did I ever not provide enough information to a customer to be able to help when they want to help.  And yes I have two procman logs, one from when it doesn't start the game and another one from when I start it as soon as I login to the computer.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2018, 02:11:46 AM by pcfixerhough »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73605
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #37 on: May 05, 2018, 06:38:45 AM »
You can upload your log(s) here: ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming/
Pick a unique name (and post it here), so the devs can find it. Thanks
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6903.IBC [UI.690] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.15 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.89
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

pcfixerhough@yahoo.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #38 on: May 05, 2018, 07:51:11 AM »
There appears to be a 32mb limit, I even tried saving the logs as csv files and then compressing them.  200mb compress procman logs, 50mb compressed CSV files.  I'm taking a break from it.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73605
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #39 on: May 05, 2018, 08:03:26 AM »
Hi, there's no limit for the FTP server.
Anyway, you can also upload it to a file sharing site of your choice and provide the link.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6903.IBC [UI.690] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.15 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.89
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

pcfixerhough@yahoo.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2018, 01:34:00 AM »
Hi, there's no limit for the FTP server.
Anyway, you can also upload it to a file sharing site of your choice and provide the link.

All that I know is that when I was trying it before it would reach 32mb and restart the transfer.  I just tried it now and it gets to 1mb and restarts the transfer.  You can say they don't have a transfer limit all that you want, it's either that or they are having a problem with the server because I can upload it to the ftp server at work without problems.  And no I am not going to provide a link for it to be transferred off of one of my work servers.  I just compressed and tried with just the log file for wow-64 not loading, it is 14mb for the pml zipped and 3.5mb for the csv zipped.  I would imagine that even half of the available data is better than none, then again when I was working support I would have already built up a computer with the standard configuration for the game and tried it.  If I couldn't duplicate the problem I would have posted so and asked the people affected for commonalities.

I opened a ticket with support, which let me upload the 3.5mb csv file as part of the ticket, lets see what happens.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2018, 01:44:38 AM by pcfixerhough »

Offline xppxzqq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #41 on: May 09, 2018, 08:51:54 PM »
The same thing happens with Overwatch, which is also a Blizzard game and also launched from the Blizzard app like World of Warcraft.

See my recent thread: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=218612.0
As someone in my thread points out (and Google kinda confirms this too), this has been going on since at least 2017.

Personally I just gave up and uninstalled Avast (running Windows defender now) but I kinda hope to be able to use Avast one day again.

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #42 on: May 11, 2018, 09:14:35 AM »
Procmon log would help us as good start point !

gstradenet@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #43 on: May 13, 2018, 04:37:33 PM »
Has this issue been resolved?

Offline kwiq

  • Avast team
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 256
Re: wow-64.exe not launching properly after avast update
« Reply #44 on: May 14, 2018, 08:52:35 AM »
Probably not,
we asked for procmon log to start investigation.