Author Topic: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup  (Read 5662 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wackywired135

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Every time my computer resumes from sleep mode, Avast has one or more popups asking me to choose the type of network I've connected to. This is a desktop computer that is always connected to the same network. I don't need 15 of the same popup asking me to change my network type when the network HASN'T changed. I pay for a premium version of Avast because I only want useful popups (not ads), but this is just as bad. Surly it isn't that hard to accurately detect if a network changed? What's even easier is to detect if the program is already asking a queation, and not ask the same question over and over.

What's worse is that occasionally the firewall thinks I've connected to a public network without displaying any notification. It takes a few minutes to realize why half of applications won't work anymore (because the network profile changes, and blocks most connections).

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43166
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 01:02:12 AM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline lynspottery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 04:01:56 PM »
I've noticed this as well.  Its only recently it has started to pop up after I boot my pc up.  Occasionally, when I am just browsing, I get the pop up message showing that my network type options have reset back to public after I actually went into settings and set it for private.

Why won't it keep my settings?

Offline Filip Braun

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 98
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 01:35:56 PM »
Hello,

Thank you for reporting this issue.
This is definitely not the intended behavior. Firewall should ask only once for each network and then save the setting and keep it.

We will investigate what is going wrong.

Thanks,
Filip

Offline b3cks

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2019, 04:23:59 PM »
Same here since 2-3 Months. Everytime the system boot up avast premier show me a message with new network with set to public. i have to set it back to private.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5413
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2019, 12:57:25 AM »
Same here since 2-3 Months. Everytime the system boot up avast premier show me a message with new network with set to public. i have to set it back to private.
Go to Settings in Firewall and set it to Private.  Reboot.

Default setting for Avast Firewall is Public, not private.  Use Private for work or home network.

See attached below:
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline kalman2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2019, 09:08:55 PM »
This occurs and your fix does not work on all tested.
Upgraded from Windows 10 V 1809 to V 1903.
Each time the computer restarts Avast displays a message after a few minutes.
You are connected to a new network and it defaults to public.
Changing to Private does not hold when the computer is restarted.

Offline kalman2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2019, 09:23:15 PM »
The latest version of Avast I. S. is installed..
19.5.2378 (Build 19.5.4444.500)

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43166
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2019, 09:38:04 PM »
What happens if you disable the Avast Firewall ?
Remember once you turn off Avast's firewall and reboot, the Windows firewall will kick in and protect you.
One way to temp. solve the annoyance till Avast fixes the problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline kalman2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2019, 11:03:51 PM »
If the Avast firewall is off Windows Firewall keeps the network type as private.
This issue is duplicated on 20+ computers with the same O.S. version and Avast I.S. version.
Only started with V 1903
V 1903 18362.145 just released also has the same issue.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6297
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2019, 11:09:01 PM »
If the Avast firewall is off Windows Firewall keeps the network type as private.
This issue is duplicated on 20+ computers with the same O.S. version and Avast I.S. version.
Only started with V 1903
V 1903 18362.145 just released also has the same issue.

I can confirm this behavior after upgrading to Windows 1903
On every boot the toaster pops up.
Setting the wireless profile to 'Private' and rebooting does NOT resolve the issue.

The Screenshot shows the toaster I see on every boot.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2019, 03:13:33 AM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium BETA 20.2.2401 /Secureline v.5.5.522/VS 5.61b(WC)/ASB v.80/Mbam OD/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD (wfc)/VS 5.61b(wc)/WinPatrol/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43166
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2019, 11:36:37 PM »
I've reported this on the Developers forum. Hope it gets fixed soon since it's not a new problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline HK

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 90
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2019, 05:16:38 PM »
Hello kalman2,

Could you please help us with investigation by providing some data?

Please enable debug logging (Menu > Settings > General > Troubleshooting > Enable debug logging)
Reproduce the issue (firewall popup appears after computer reboot/wake from the sleep).

Create a support package (https://support.avast.com/en-eu/article/Submit-support-file) and post the ID here.

Thank you very much,
HK

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6297
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2019, 07:59:54 PM »
I am NOT seeing this Behavior on the latest Beta; only on the latest stable version.
Both machines were upgraded to Win 1903 on the same day. (May 30)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium BETA 20.2.2401 /Secureline v.5.5.522/VS 5.61b(WC)/ASB v.80/Mbam OD/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD (wfc)/VS 5.61b(wc)/WinPatrol/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL

Offline kalman2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2019, 08:33:52 PM »
Your support tool was not able to upload the information to Avast error 12002 was displayed