Author Topic: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup  (Read 15824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48707
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2019, 09:46:59 PM »
Your support tool was not able to upload the information to Avast error 12002 was displayed
Reported to Avast. Unfortunately this is the weekend.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline greeny187

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2019, 03:09:57 AM »
Been seeing this after the latest update. Keep on poping up every restart of my system.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ontzhN91_GYqWfwymu4oMVDByn7GKeI8/view?usp=sharing

Is this going to solve soon by the dev team?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2019, 03:25:26 AM »
Been seeing this after the latest update. Keep on poping up every restart of my system.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ontzhN91_GYqWfwymu4oMVDByn7GKeI8/view?usp=sharing

Is this going to solve soon by the dev team?

Avast is aware of the issue and are working to identify the cause and then correct.
No way to know devs timetable for a fix. :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48707
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2019, 02:35:39 PM »
Until this is fixed, you can always disable the Avast firewall and allow the Windows firewall to protect you.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline kalman2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2019, 10:17:52 PM »
If the disable the issue is not resolved.
You have to uninstall the avast firewall feature for the prompt and change to stop.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2019, 10:27:17 PM »
For anyone interested, I am still not seeing this behavior in the latest beta build. (Refer post #13)
No toaster/prompt to select network profile.

Offline Dimpie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2019, 12:27:34 PM »
Noted, i will give the beta 19.6 a go hopefully that annoying pop-up goes away

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #22 on: June 09, 2019, 03:41:00 PM »
Noted, i will give the beta 19.6 a go hopefully that annoying pop-up goes away

To run the beta simply download the latest beta and install over the stable version, However, to return to a Stable version from the beta, you must uninstall the beta via Control Panel/Programs and reboot, then use the Avastclear.exe cleanup tool (choose 'Safe Mode' when asked) then reboot again, and then install the stable version again.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2019, 03:45:01 PM by schmidthouse »

Offline Dimpie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2019, 03:19:30 PM »
To run the beta simply download the latest beta and install over the stable version, However, to return to a Stable version from the beta, you must uninstall the beta via Control Panel/Programs and reboot, then use the Avastclear.exe cleanup tool (choose 'Safe Mode' when asked) then reboot again, and then install the stable version again.

Will the beta not update to the next stable version when released? ... does it stay on beta now forever ?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76027
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2019, 03:25:52 PM »
Will the beta not update to the next stable version when released? ... does it stay on beta now forever ?
Hi, schmidthouse already explained it, for details see: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2019, 03:50:02 PM »
Yes, explained better then I did. ;)
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 03:52:32 PM by schmidthouse »

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2019, 03:56:24 PM »
To run the beta simply download the latest beta and install over the stable version, However, to return to a Stable version from the beta, you must uninstall the beta via Control Panel/Programs and reboot, then use the Avastclear.exe cleanup tool (choose 'Safe Mode' when asked) then reboot again, and then install the stable version again.

Will the beta not update to the next stable version when released?]Will the beta not update to the next stable version when released?... does it stay on beta now forever ?

No, it does not.
Read the info/directions provided in the link Asyn provided if you choose to run a beta. :)

Offline Gareth36

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #27 on: June 13, 2019, 10:35:16 PM »
Same issue here but doesn't need to reboot boot it just intermittently switches to public
 

Offline Dimpie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #28 on: June 17, 2019, 12:23:21 PM »
Will the beta not update to the next stable version when released? ... does it stay on beta now forever ?
Hi, schmidthouse already explained it, for details see: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0

Yes, via an edit after i posted, but nonetheless, Thanks for the info  :P

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76027
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast firewall always prompting to select network type on startup
« Reply #29 on: June 17, 2019, 01:44:25 PM »
You're welcome. But more important, does it work for you now..?
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0