Author Topic: HELP!!!! Can't run anything  (Read 25309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« on: January 03, 2004, 02:43:40 AM »
I just installed avast4, it wanted to scan my system after reboot so I said fine.  It found what appeared to be a couple of worm's in an .exe or 2, so I told it to delte them, and to delete any future ones it found.  Well now I can't run a single thing excent Internet Explorer.  Windows explorer is gone, control panel gone, e-mail program gone, get the picture.  How in the hell could this happen and how in the world do I fix it now?

Thanks,

^Hawk^

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2004, 03:14:38 AM »
im assuming avast wont run either. so run an online scan here:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com
see if it finds any more of those worms
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2004, 03:52:54 AM »
OK, Housecall is scanning.  How do I get my exe files back.  I can't run a single program on my PC.  I'm screwed if I have to reinstall everything.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2004, 04:55:59 AM »
do you know the names of the .exe files?
What did Housecall find
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2004, 05:10:39 AM »
explore.exe swishmax.exe rundll32.exe qw.exe the list goes on and on

Housecall is still scanning....so far it's found another virus...JS NOCLOSE.E

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2004, 11:52:02 AM »
Hawk, MacLover called me to help you. I'll say it won't be easy to recover your .exe files one by one. Anyway, there are a quite good application that you can run at a floppy: Restoration 2.5.14 or you can download here.

Others have to be installed into a Windows envyronment: PC File Recovery.

I recommend you try avast! Virus Cleaner Tool. You can run into 'Windows Safe Mode' to be sure of a complete cleaning and then, after, try to recover your exe files with Restoration. Note, Restoration does not need to be installed into the HDD and before the 'disaster' happenned.

If you can get some help from raman, he is a experienced avast user about viruses and cleaning. We will be here trying to help you  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2004, 03:39:42 PM »
Latest update.  It seems that at least some of the files that I thought were deleted were not.  The problem is windows has forgotten how to run an .exe file.  I downloaded those 2 programs to my desktop and tried to run both and I got the same error message.  "Windows cannot find the program, use search to find it.  I've used to search to find some of these files, and when I try to run the files that search finds, I also get the error message.  So is this hopeless, or do I just need to do a few specific things?

Thanks for all the help so far.  If I ever meet a virus writer, even if he or she is 8 years old, I'm ripping out their spine and hanging it on a stake in front of my house.  

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2004, 04:32:38 PM »
Did some more searching, and it seem the PrettyPark virus causes these symptoms, but I can't find any traces of that virus on my system, so I'm still looking.....

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2004, 06:42:42 PM »
IM back. Here is what i found on the trojan housecall found
http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=JS_NOCLOSE.E
if you have java installed when this is over be sure to install the latest version of that platform and update IE as well.
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5078
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2004, 06:46:16 PM »
what version of windows are you running? and post a hijack this log IF you can http://mjc1.com/mirror/hjt/
ill notify raman
« Last Edit: January 03, 2004, 06:46:41 PM by MacLover2000 »
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline raman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1062
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2004, 08:02:19 PM »
Please start your PC in safe mode and start regedit.
check the Value of this Regkey:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open\command]

The value should be : "%1" %*
MfG Ralf

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2004, 08:33:59 PM »
I'm running Win XP Pro.  I'm attaching the hijackthis log.

Raman,

That is the registry entry I have for that setting.

My .exe files are back to working, now I need guidance to make sure my system is clean, and have nothing hiding in wait to pop up later on.

Thanks,

^Hawk^
« Last Edit: January 03, 2004, 08:36:44 PM by ^Hawk^ »

Offline raman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1062
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2004, 08:52:34 PM »
Hui is there a virus you are not infected with? :(
You are highly infected! Optix, supernova, SDbot or gaobot(?) Adware
What do you want, cleaning your PC, or format and reinstall all?

The last choice is the better on.
MfG Ralf

Offline ^Hawk^

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Stupid llamas!
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2004, 09:11:14 PM »
I would surely prefer to clean vs. reformat and reinstall.  To give you an example.  Avast has been scanning for hours, over 500,000 files so far.  I takes me weeks to reformat and reinstall everything, and since I have to back up so much data, am I not risking backing up a virus and introducing it when I start to reinstall anyways?  

Here's what avast just found:

Win32: Trojan-Gen (Other)

ADinf-1646

Offline raman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1062
Re:HELP!!!! Can't run anything
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2004, 09:14:19 PM »
The adinf should be a false alarm, and you should let avast scan in safe mode. It is(this time) faster then running it with all the viruses active and in safe mode avast should be able to clean/delete them.
MfG Ralf