Author Topic: Smart scan components differ from those selected  (Read 6712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocksteady

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Smart scan components differ from those selected
« on: May 18, 2018, 07:17:30 PM »
I am using Avast Free 18.4.2338 and PC has just updated to Win10 version 1803 today. I had problems with UI not firing up after the 1803 update, but after a couple of re-boots that seems fixed. I am more concerned about Smart Scan, which is now different from before the Win10 1803 update.
 
There appears to be a mismatch between what Smart Scan does and what it is selected to do.

Smart scan does:
Virus Scan, Vulnerable Software, Browser Add-ons, Network Threats, Sensitive Data.

But corresponding Smart scan seected actions from "Menu" are:
Scan for: Viruses, outdated software, browser add-ons, network threats, compatibility issues.

So get scan for sensitive data not compatibility issues. I dont want it to scan sensitive data but there is no slider to switch that compoment off!

I have done a Avast Repair, but no change.

I dont want Avast hunting for sensitve data on my machine, but do want to use Smart Scan occasionally.

If you select "scan for viruses" only, it still does the scan for sensitive data.

Can that be fixed?




Offline rocksteady

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2018, 12:13:01 PM »
So no replies, must be a sunny weekend.
I thought I had spotted something not right, but guess there are more important issues affecting the product.
It would be good to know if what I have found is "by design" or is indeed a flaw.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80798
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2018, 01:21:26 PM »
Does that on mine also and I have a very minimal installation. I either do a custom install or update the program from the UI, but I can't recall if you can even deselect the sensitive data component.

To protect Sensitive data I believe you have to have a paid avast program that includes it (possibly Premier).  So it looks very like it is there to try and flog you a paid version.

If it happened to find some unprotected sensitive documents - I would bet the Resolve All button would offer a paid option.  For me it is just finding out of date Flash Version.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.1.2360/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline rocksteady

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2018, 05:43:46 PM »
Sensitive Data Shield shows with padlock (exclusion) under Privacy tab on my Avast Free version. Like you say, running it will nudge to upgrade to paid version without doubt.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80798
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2018, 06:55:05 PM »
The problem being there is nowhere to stop that component from being loaded or to remove it.  If it wasn't there it couldn't possibly do this scan (and it takes time).

In all honesty on-demand scans are much depreciated, I rarely bother outside of beta testing (I don't do much of that now) or as a result of a topic in the forums, such as yours.

- With a resident (on-access) scanner the need for on-demand scans is much depreciated. For the most part dormant/inert files are being scanned, the other active files are going to be scanned by the resident shields when they are activated.

Some of the options in the Smart Scan may be an exception as they aren't done by any other shield/component.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.1.2360/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56987
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2018, 07:20:21 PM »
The funny thing is that I want it to run in Smart-Scan but it doesn't show up here.
Seems the Avast Free users stole the Sensitive Data Scan from Premier... ;D ;)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.2.2361.Beta#1 - CC 5.52 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.4 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.4 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80798
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2018, 09:18:15 PM »
You can have mine I don't bloody want it :)
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.1.2360/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56987
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2018, 11:23:42 PM »
You can have mine I don't bloody want it :)
Yeah, send it over... ;)

But joking apart, this sounds like a bug.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.2.2361.Beta#1 - CC 5.52 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.4 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.4 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80798
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2018, 12:44:54 AM »
You can have mine I don't bloody want it :)
Yeah, send it over... ;)

But joking apart, this sounds like a bug.

Yes and one that needs to be squashed/resolved soonest.

EDIT: Typo
« Last Edit: May 20, 2018, 12:51:05 AM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.1.2360/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline rocksteady

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2018, 07:01:52 PM »
Thanks Asyn for referring to it as a bug. I hope this now gets referred to the Devs.

The Sensitive Data component is not avalable to Free users so why include it in Smart Scan. It is unwanted by me and unlike other components cannot be switched off in settings.
It is a real nuisance because if you run Smart Scan and hit resolve issues it pulls up a sales page of Update or Keep Free version, but ths page is faulty as it is not possible to select keep Free Version as clicking that box on the left side does nothing at all. So the only action available is X this window then X again the free trial Window. I seem to remember Bob instructing another user to do this to escape the dead end. This is a second bug IMO and will just confuse and frustrate less tech savy users just wanting no bells free antivirus.

I hope the Devs can sort these bugs out without creating more issues, as things seem to be getting worse with each new version.
Thanks,
Ed

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56987
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2018, 07:12:00 PM »
Thanks Asyn for referring to it as a bug. I hope this now gets referred to the Devs.
NP, I reported it to MartinZ.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.2.2361.Beta#1 - CC 5.52 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.4 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.4 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2018, 10:36:07 AM »
Thanks Asyn for referring to it as a bug. I hope this now gets referred to the Devs.
NP, I reported it to MartinZ.

Asyn,
Thanks for that.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56987
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2018, 10:38:25 AM »
You're welcome Ed.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.2.2361.Beta#1 - CC 5.52 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.4 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.4 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 924
  • Product Manager
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2018, 11:35:15 AM »
Yes this settings is broken now. We plan to completely scrap this setting and rather make it possible to create a custom scan based on Smart Scan. But the main SmartScan will have the items fixed.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56987
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2018, 12:02:22 PM »
Thanks Martin. :)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.2.2361.Beta#1 - CC 5.52 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.4 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.4 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0