Author Topic: Smart scan components differ from those selected  (Read 7871 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 80997
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2018, 04:55:47 PM »
My best guess is, that's a leftover marketing gimmick (nobody cared to remove).

Not much of a marketing gimmick for those on a paid version of avast and it isn't there :)
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.2.2364/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #31 on: August 27, 2018, 04:58:41 PM »
My best guess is, that's a leftover marketing gimmick (nobody cared to remove).
Not much of a marketing gimmick for those on a paid version of avast and it isn't there :)
Yep, I was talking about the free version.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.3.2369.BUC - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #32 on: August 27, 2018, 05:02:09 PM »
Just FYI, there's a separate menu in the paid version, so I don't really need it in smart scan.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.3.2369.BUC - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #33 on: August 28, 2018, 09:31:33 AM »
I have Avast Free on winXP SP3 and Win10 1803 machines. Both have Sensitive Data scans fixed in Smart Scan.
I agree it is prob an Avast Marketing Scam, but I was previously able to get around it by switching off all components then back on. Not this time. So the Marketing Scam is now more sticky.
The really annoying thing is it runs every time you run a Smart Scan so takes a lot of time if you have a big disk. I will now forego Smart Scan altogether. Pity as it is a useful bundle of components I like to run on the odd occasion.
I just cannot understand why it is in the Free version (unwanted) but not the paid version (wanted) if I understand @Asyn correctly. Maybe they have a settting crossed over between these versions.
Ho hum just another Avast "feature" I will have to live with, as I dont see Avast devs will be motivated to fix it.
("feature" was the word we used instead of "bug" when I was a dev. Don't think things have changed much over the years).
For what it is worth, I did do an Avast Repair on both my machines, but to no effect.
Ed

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #34 on: August 28, 2018, 10:04:35 AM »
Hi Ed, info from Martin below. Let's see...

P.S.
For upcoming versions we work on completely new settings and full 64-bit version ;-)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.3.2369.BUC - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #35 on: August 28, 2018, 11:35:10 AM »
@Asyn. Yes I am also aware of MartinZ reply #13 back in May 2018.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 58054
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #36 on: August 28, 2018, 11:38:12 AM »
@Asyn. Yes I am also aware of MartinZ reply #13 back in May 2018.
No, that's a new one (from here https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=221320.0).
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.3.2369.BUC - CC 5.55 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.6 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.5.3 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BUC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DougCuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #37 on: August 30, 2018, 06:38:57 PM »
The scan for "Sensitive Data" has added itself back into the Smart Scan on my Avast v18.6.2349 Free.
This happened to me before back in June (Reply #19 on: June 29, 2018 - in this thread)

On that occassion I was able to "remove" this rogue setting by removing and then reinstating the default scan options.
Others also appeared to have some success with that technique.

However this time nothing works - even disabling all available Smart Scan options still leaves the "Sensitive Data" item active.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40114
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #38 on: August 31, 2018, 01:51:42 PM »
Reported to Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.2.2364, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DougCuk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #39 on: September 02, 2018, 02:27:57 PM »
Avast has only collected a definitions update (2-Sep-2018) - but the "Sensitive Data" item in Smart Scan has gone again.  Not sure how or why the config has been fixed - unless it was a problem caused by a fault in the definitions data - but the problem is now solved (again).

For anyone still seeing the "Sensitive Data" item showing in Smart Scan:
Try resetting the Smart Scan options by going to Menu->Settings->General->Smart Scan.
Enter the Customise option and tick the "All Files" tick box then OK out
Switch off both Smart Scan sliders (Browser Add-ons and Virus Scan) then OK out and close the program
Then go back and reverse those steps to put everything back as it was (deselect "All Files" and turn on both sliders)
With any luck you should no longer see "Sensitive Data" showing when you start a Smart Scan or see warnings about "Unprotected Sensitive Documents".

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40114
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #40 on: September 02, 2018, 03:39:13 PM »
The last VPS update most likely fixed the problem.
If you still have a problem, make sure your VPS is up to date.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.2.2364, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #41 on: September 10, 2018, 06:06:00 PM »

For anyone still seeing the "Sensitive Data" item showing in Smart Scan:
Try resetting the Smart Scan options by going to Menu->Settings->General->Smart Scan.
Enter the Customise option and tick the "All Files" tick box then OK out
Switch off both Smart Scan sliders (Browser Add-ons and Virus Scan) then OK out and close the program
Then go back and reverse those steps to put everything back as it was (deselect "All Files" and turn on both sliders)
With any luck you should no longer see "Sensitive Data" showing when you start a Smart Scan or see warnings about "Unprotected Sensitive Documents".


Didn't work for me. Still get unwanted "Sensitive Data" scan despite changing smart scan settings.

Correction.
Worked only after I did a full reboot.
Ed
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 06:18:25 PM by rocksteady »

Offline Fernando414

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #42 on: September 10, 2018, 08:42:37 PM »
it worked for me
Learn how to invest in financial markets in my web!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40114
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #43 on: September 10, 2018, 09:58:30 PM »

For anyone still seeing the "Sensitive Data" item showing in Smart Scan:
Try resetting the Smart Scan options by going to Menu->Settings->General->Smart Scan.
Enter the Customise option and tick the "All Files" tick box then OK out
Switch off both Smart Scan sliders (Browser Add-ons and Virus Scan) then OK out and close the program
Then go back and reverse those steps to put everything back as it was (deselect "All Files" and turn on both sliders)
With any luck you should no longer see "Sensitive Data" showing when you start a Smart Scan or see warnings about "Unprotected Sensitive Documents".


Didn't work for me. Still get unwanted "Sensitive Data" scan despite changing smart scan settings.

Correction.
Worked only after I did a full reboot.
Ed
Any time you make major changes, you need to reboot in order for those changes to take place. :)

Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.2.2364, WinPatrol, Unchecky How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #44 on: October 06, 2018, 07:23:36 PM »
Just tried a Smart Scan today. I don't do this often.
The unwanted "Sensitive Sata" scan is back embedded as default item and cannot be deselected.
Tried toggling the Smart Scan component settings, reboot. No change.
Tried repair Avast, toggling Smart Scan settings, reboot. No change.
The above workrounds used to work, as described in thread above, but not this time.
Crazy as Sensitive Data scan is of no use in Free Version.
So no way of dumping "Sensitive Data" scan in Smart Scan in Avast Free, unless someone knows a new way to overcome this annoying bug.
Ed