Author Topic: Smart scan components differ from those selected  (Read 9472 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40977
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #45 on: October 06, 2018, 07:55:25 PM »
Reported to Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #46 on: October 07, 2018, 12:40:36 AM »
This problem has now been going on since at least May 2018 - but for some reason the fixes never last - and this is getting really annoying. I am constantly getting calls from my customers asking what they need to do about these "Unprotected Sensitive Documents" that Avast is warning them about.

Initially I had some success in deactivating this rogue setting - as detailed earlier in this thread. But this no longer seems to work - the setting just reactivated again on my system (must be the 4th or 5th time now) and it resists all attempts to clear the rogue setting.

On one occasion a Virus Definitions Update appeared to remove the rogue Smart Scan option. So I have to assume that it can also be reinstated by this route. So it would appear that updates from Avast are causing this rogue Smart Scan item to toggle on and off - depending on who builds the update package. Maybe Avast should make sure that all staff are using the same set of rules when building Avast Free updates.   

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59841
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #47 on: October 07, 2018, 10:50:25 AM »
Hi guys, you could try the latest beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=15
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2383.BC - CC 5.59 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59841
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #48 on: October 08, 2018, 11:01:47 AM »
Info from MartinZ: It will be solved different way in new settings. no option to configure smart scan but option to create a new custom scan based on smart scan.
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2383.BC - CC 5.59 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81607
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #49 on: October 08, 2018, 06:09:36 PM »
Info from MartinZ: It will be solved different way in new settings. no option to configure smart scan but option to create a new custom scan based on smart scan.

For me the easiest resolution isn't to run a Smart Scan.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #50 on: October 10, 2018, 04:10:45 PM »


For me the easiest resolution isn't to run a Smart Scan.
[/quote]

@DavidR: True, can just avoid the big attractive "Run Smart Scan" button, but that is not the point. I reported this bug months back, but so far no fix. Hope by Bob notifying Avast of user disgruntlement something now gets done.
PS. @Asyn: I will not be trying the Beta version.

Ed 

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40977
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #51 on: October 10, 2018, 04:13:11 PM »


For me the easiest resolution isn't to run a Smart Scan.

@DavidR: True, can just avoid the big attractive "Run Smart Scan" button, but that is not the point. I reported this bug months back, but so far no fix. Hope by Bob notifying Avast of user disgruntlement something now gets done.
PS. @Asyn: I will not be trying the Beta version.

Ed
Best I've been able to find out is that there will be a custom scan based on the smart scan.

Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #52 on: October 11, 2018, 05:51:11 PM »
For what it is worth, new version 18.7.2354 still exhibits this problem. Otherwise it installed fine on our Win10 and WinXPSP3 devices.
Ed

Offline avant-guvnor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #53 on: October 26, 2018, 01:19:11 PM »
This problem has now been going on since at least May 2018 - but for some reason the fixes never last - and this is getting really annoying. I am constantly getting calls from my customers asking what they need to do about these "Unprotected Sensitive Documents" that Avast is warning them about.

Earlier than May 2018, as I reported this issue in reply no. 51 on 14 November 2017 here:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=210678.msg1430863#msg1430863

After waiting months for a fix or an explanation from Avast and neither is forthcoming, I suspect this feature is now meant to annoy free users.

Finally, regarding the fix e.g. create a new custom scan based on smart scan, it isn't clear how to set this up. I can create new scans, but I can't see where to create a new scan, based on Smart Scan.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59841
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #54 on: October 26, 2018, 01:26:37 PM »
New settings are planned for V18.8, let's see...
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2383.BC - CC 5.59 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline avant-guvnor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #55 on: October 26, 2018, 01:35:54 PM »
New settings are planned for V18.8, let's see...

Although I would welcome new settings, I've been hearing that for months. :-\

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 59841
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #56 on: October 26, 2018, 01:37:19 PM »
New settings are planned for V18.8, let's see...
Although I would welcome new settings, I've been hearing that for months. :-\
Well, that's all I know, but feel free to wait for MartinZ. ;)
Windows 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.6.2383.BC - CC 5.59 - EEK - Firefox ESR 60.8 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.8 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #57 on: December 13, 2018, 06:53:54 PM »
I have just incurred reocurrance of "sensitive data" scan within Smart Scan.
I know Smart Scan is prone to these failings and I should not use it, but seemed to be cured of this bad behaviour recently.
This occurred on my WinXP SP3 rig with Avast Free 18.8.2356. Even with all Smart Scan components switched off, it still persists. Did Repair of Avast and Reboot to no beneficial effect.
I have also just checked my Win10 rig and same happens with Smart Scan there. The fault must be something recent, as I did a Smart Scan on that without it doing a bogus "sensitive data" scan on that machine just a day or so ago.
Can this be fixed again by devs please. Perhaps a more permanant fix.
Ed



Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #58 on: December 14, 2018, 11:10:36 AM »
The Sensitive Data scan had been showing in my Smart Scan for many weeks - and even a full reinstall failed to remove it. It was still there early yesterday - but now it is gone. There was a Definitions update that was collected at startup today (version 181213-2 dated 13-Dec) which I assume changed the Smart Scan config. This did happen once before as a result of complaints in this thread - but it did not last.

I'm not really sure how a definitions update can change the config of the Smart Scan elements - but it appears that it is possible (having happened twice now). And in fact checking the Config.def file (in the Avast program folder, Setup subfolder) the Sensitive Data item has been removed from the "SmartScanItems" config line. I had tried making this change manually (with the self defense module "paused") and it did work but Avast reinstated it at next reboot. The inclusion of a Sensitive Data scan was obviously coded as a default action somewhere within Avast and was reinstated at reboot if found to be missing.

The current fixed state does survive a reboot - so looking good so far.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2018, 11:14:30 AM by DougCuk »

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 35838
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #59 on: December 14, 2018, 11:27:00 AM »
Quote
I'm not really sure how a definitions update can change the config of the Smart Scan elements
VPS updates can also containe minor program changes

Signatures also arrive as stream updates evry 5-15minutes  >>  https://press.avast.com/avast-software-streaming-updates-for-all-with-the-newa-avast-7


Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.