Author Topic: Smart scan components differ from those selected  (Read 10677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82210
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2018, 01:13:01 PM »
Yes this settings is broken now. We plan to completely scrap this setting and rather make it possible to create a custom scan based on Smart Scan. But the main SmartScan will have the items fixed.

OK, it makes sense to have the settings all in one place.  Though in this case, scans in the Smart Scan of components that supposedly haven't even been installed, yet have the functionality to run a scan !!!

Components that aren't listed and installed in the Avast Installation shouldn't be able to run in the Smart Scan.  If a component hasn't been installed (for reasons of the user) it shouldn't mysteriously be able to run in the Smart Scan (not very smart).

WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41903
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2018, 04:11:24 PM »
Yes this settings is broken now. We plan to completely scrap this setting and rather make it possible to create a custom scan based on Smart Scan. But the main SmartScan will have the items fixed.

OK, it makes sense to have the settings all in one place.  Though in this case, scans in the Smart Scan of components that supposedly haven't even been installed, yet have the functionality to run a scan !!!

Components that aren't listed and installed in the Avast Installation shouldn't be able to run in the Smart Scan.  If a component hasn't been installed (for reasons of the user) it shouldn't mysteriously be able to run in the Smart Scan (not very smart).
Certainly not for the reason of being able to do cross selling.  :(
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2018, 08:10:25 PM »
Yes this settings is broken now. We plan to completely scrap this setting and rather make it possible to create a custom scan based on Smart Scan. But the main SmartScan will have the items fixed.

OK, it makes sense to have the settings all in one place.  Though in this case, scans in the Smart Scan of components that supposedly haven't even been installed, yet have the functionality to run a scan !!!

Components that aren't listed and installed in the Avast Installation shouldn't be able to run in the Smart Scan.  If a component hasn't been installed (for reasons of the user) it shouldn't mysteriously be able to run in the Smart Scan (not very smart).

Totally agree with David and Bob on this.

Why is Smart Scan now broken? It was sort of fine before. Not perfect though, as I have encountered the Sensitive Data scan once before, after an Avast version update. That time, after I rejecting the "upgrade" cross selling offer, it went away. Not this time though.

Surely Smart scan can be fixed to pull up just installed components, not all components, available to Free version. Martin's dev proposal seems a retrograde step to me. I find the Smart Scan green button is handy on UI to manually run essential scan elements once in a while, but is not a good feature as it stands.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 11:07:57 PM by rocksteady »

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2018, 06:25:42 PM »
Dissapointed that this "Smart Scan" issue has not been fixed in 18.5.2342. Scan of sensitive data is still included and cannot be deselected in Smart Scan settings.

Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2018, 01:29:43 PM »
I have just upgraded from Avast Free v18.4 to v18.5.2342 - and I am no longer seeing the "Unprotected Sensitive Documents" scan occur as part of Smart Scan. No new config options are present, but the Sensitive Document warnings have stopped.

If you are still seeing Sensitive Data warnings from Smart Scan (using v18.5)
- you could try re-saving the default Smart Scan Customisation options
- this may clear the incorrect config option that got set by the faulty version.
I turned on "Scan All Files" - then saved the change (by clicking the OK button)
- and then went back and turned it back off and saved again.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41903
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2018, 03:17:57 PM »
When all else fails, there's always a Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #21 on: June 30, 2018, 03:18:59 PM »
I have just upgraded from Avast Free v18.4 to v18.5.2342 - and I am no longer seeing the "Unprotected Sensitive Documents" scan occur as part of Smart Scan. No new config options are present, but the Sensitive Document warnings have stopped.

If you are still seeing Sensitive Data warnings from Smart Scan (using v18.5)
- you could try re-saving the default Smart Scan Customisation options
- this may clear the incorrect config option that got set by the faulty version.
I turned on "Scan All Files" - then saved the change (by clicking the OK button)
- and then went back and turned it back off and saved again.

I have had a bit of time to play with Avast Smart Scan settings today.
I turned off everything except the Virus Scan switch. Ran Smart Scan and only Viris Scan progress was shown.
Then turned on everything and all the selected options and only the selected options were performed. No unwanted extras like scan sensitive data were added.
Looks like Smart Scan components selection is fixed.
Ed

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #22 on: July 25, 2018, 10:17:03 AM »
Just to let you know I have had a reoccurrance of my original post where Smart Scan includes (unwanted) Scan of Sensitive Data by default. I have cured this again by:
1. Repair of Avast
2. Settings/Smart Scan - turn off everything except Virus Scan.
3. Run Smart Scan.
Scan of Sensitive Data is then not included.
I suspect I only needed to alter Smart Scan settings to cure the problem, but did Repair as first line fix.
You can go back to Smart Scan settings and reselect the tasks to be included in Smart Scan and these are then remembered without inclusion of the bogus Sensitve Data scan, which is anyway inappropriate for Avast Free.
I don't know why this bug can resurface after so many weeks of being ok. Just a bit annoying having to fix it again.
Hope the above may help any one else overcome this problem.


Offline Dix Huit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2018, 02:02:43 AM »
I have tried everything above except the clean install, but unfortunately the Sensitive Data scan still runs as part of Smart Scan.  This is not a big problem for me, but it does reflect badly on Avast.

Yes this settings is broken now. We plan to completely scrap this setting and rather make it possible to create a custom scan based on Smart Scan. But the main SmartScan will have the items fixed.

As mentioned above, this is still not fixed for me.  Since you are planning to scrap it anyway, I suppose it's a very low priority.  It would be nice if you could keep the Compatibility Check in the new Smart Scan, since that is a scan that cannot (currently) be performed outside of Smart Scan.

Offline avant-guvnor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2018, 12:36:09 PM »
I reported this issue way back in November 2017 and it is STILL an issue today (18.5.2342 build 18.5.3931.358).

Please can someone from Avast explain to me why the issue has not been addressed?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2018, 12:38:25 PM by avant-guvnor »

Offline rocksteady

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2018, 11:44:03 AM »
This is now getting really annoying.
I have just updated to 18.6.2349 (build 18.6.3983.0) and the "Sensitive Data" scan component has reappeared as a unwanted and unremoveable component of Smart Scan. I tried to refesh the components by turning all off, scan, then back on without any effect. This is now worse than before.
I do not want Avast searching for sensitive data on my machines. I cant see where the scan results are stored or if can be deleteted?
Scan is no good for Free Avast as that Component is paid for.
If anyone knows how to switch off this unwanted Sensitive Data Scan within Smart Scan, can you please reply. I dont think the devs are interested in this bug as it has been long running.
Thanks
Ed
« Last Edit: August 27, 2018, 11:48:56 AM by rocksteady »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82210
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2018, 01:13:54 PM »
This is now getting really annoying.
I have just updated to 18.6.2349 (build 18.6.3983.0) and the "Sensitive Data" scan component has reappeared as a unwanted and unremoveable component of Smart Scan. I tried to refesh the components by turning all off, scan, then back on without any effect. This is now worse than before.
I do not want Avast searching for sensitive data on my machines. I cant see where the scan results are stored or if can be deleteted?
Scan is no good for Free Avast as that Component is paid for.
If anyone knows how to switch off this unwanted Sensitive Data Scan within Smart Scan, can you please reply. I dont think the devs are interested in this bug as it has been long running.
Thanks
Ed


Well we have been down this road many times.

Personally I don't run on-demand scans (beta testing and forum questions), they are much depreciated in an on-access antivirus.  Whilst the Smart Scan is somewhat different in that it isn't just scanning for malware as for the other on-demand scans, you have to decide what you actually want uninstall all mother unwanted components.

Yes the bloody sensitive data scan is back, when push comes to shove I shove back and I simply won't run the Smart Scan if it is going to be dumb enough to run scans of components not installed and no way to fully customise the Smart Scan.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61611
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #27 on: August 27, 2018, 01:17:26 PM »
It's still missing here (see Reply #5).
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82210
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #28 on: August 27, 2018, 04:45:55 PM »
It's still missing here (see Reply #5).

Oops, I took a screenshot of the wrong system, the XP system is still using the last version of Avast Free (I'm hanging back on this system). However, running it on my win10 system with the latest version of avast the damn Sensitive Data scan is still there.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61611
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #29 on: August 27, 2018, 04:52:33 PM »
My best guess is, that's a leftover marketing gimmick (nobody cared to remove).
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0