Author Topic: Smart scan components differ from those selected  (Read 17716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #60 on: December 14, 2018, 03:40:04 PM »
And in fact checking the Config.def file (in the Avast program folder, Setup subfolder) the Sensitive Data item has been removed from the "SmartScanItems" config line. I had tried making this change manually (with the self defense module "paused") and it did work but Avast reinstated it at next reboot. The inclusion of a Sensitive Data scan was obviously coded as a default action somewhere within Avast and was reinstated at reboot if found to be missing.

The current fixed state does survive a reboot - so looking good so far.

Doug,
I wish that was true here:
My Config.def shows the bogus scan item in SmartScanItems list:
SmartScanItems=scanViruses,scanForUpdates,scanBrowsers,scanHomeDevice,scanSensitiveData,scanPasswords

MartinZ announced changes to Smart Scan months back but that has not happened.
I await a proper fix. Will not use or recommend others use Smart Scan in meantime.
Ed




Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #61 on: December 14, 2018, 09:39:08 PM »
Well that didn't last long!
The Sensitive Data scan item has been reinstated in the Smart Scan items. (Both on screen and in Config.def)
A new Definitions update (181214-6) was collected and Smart Scan is back to it's annoying self.
It would appear that someone is issuing a "special" Definition update that removes the Sensitive Data item from Smart Scan - but then the next "standard" update is reinstating the setting.

My guess would be that there are two "templates" in use when building the Definition updates - the "standard" one forces Smart Scan to include the Sensitive Data item - but there is another that is being used when issuing the "special" update that removes the Sensitive Data item. Until the standard build "template" is  fixed the change to Smart Scan will always be removed by the next "standard" update. Can someone please sort this out once and for all.

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #62 on: December 15, 2018, 12:00:24 PM »
Last night "Sensitive Data" scan was absent from Smart Scan when tried on my Win10 rig. But still present this morning on my Win XP rig. I have not yet booted the Win10 machine. I stop the scan immediately when I see the Sensitive Data item is included.
As Doug mentions, it seems a lottery at the moment whether it is included or not.

Come on Avast, either remove it permanently from Free version or make it a switchable component that can be turned off by users in Smart Scan settings. The way it is sometimes there and other times not, hints at poor quality control or software update process failure at Avast, which does not inspire user confidence in the software as a whole.
Ed

Edit:
I have now run Smart Scan on Win10 machine and was OK there. No bogus Sensitive Data scan was incuded.
So for me it is now 1 out of 2 that has this fault, i.e. on WinXP.
Ed
« Last Edit: December 15, 2018, 05:48:57 PM by rocksteady »

Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #63 on: December 15, 2018, 09:50:30 PM »
I sent a Forum Message to MartinZ (listed as a Moderator and Product Manager) highlighting this thread and outlining the issue.
I  noted he had responded on this thread back in May 2018 (Reply #13) - saying yes the Smart Scan setting is broken and would be fixed. Not sure if this message will get through - but thought it worth a try.

This afternoon I have seen transitions in both directions on two different computers - with the Sensitive Data scan item both appearing and disappearing from Smart Scan. I currently have five computers all fully updated on Avast - one is OK all the others have the fault. These include three Win7, and one each WinXP and Win10.

Offline loungehake

  • Dummy Half
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Come on lad! You've only got 70 yards to go.
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #64 on: December 30, 2018, 10:06:38 PM »
The Smart Scan 'Sensitive Data' irritant seems to be a mechanism to push a Pro feature. I don't want it and am reluctant to initiate a 'Resolve' process for fear that it will do someting unwanted that I cannot undo. These little ruses of Avast's do not have the pleasant soothing effect on the user presumably desired by the company's leaders. We accept the pop-ups which routinely appear once or twice each day but those do not obstruct the user from interacting with Avast.
Windows 10 Pro x64, Avast Free 22.3.6008, Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit, Malwarebytes Anti-Ransomware

Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #65 on: January 01, 2019, 02:23:13 PM »
Clicking the "Resolve" button just shows you an advert for the Pro product - no files are altered or removed.

I have been monitoring the "Smart Scan 'Sensitive Data' irritant" - and on machines that are on most of the time the setting keeps changing every few days - but on machines that are only on occasionally the setting tends to stay set the same way for much longer.

It appears the "switch" is contained in some (but not all) Definition updates. I have tried disabling "streaming updates" in Update Settings to try and make it easier to identify when the "switch" command occurs - but so far results are not clear. All I can say is that not all updates reset the Sensitive Data "switch" as machines on the same Update version can have opposite Smart Scan configurations. Occasional updates activate the Sensitive Data setting - and more rarely an update deactivates the setting. If a machine misses an update because it is turned off the "switch" doesn't occur and the setting stays unchanged.

I am beginning to think there are two opposing factions inside Avast - one (marketing) wants the setting active for up-selling to the Pro version - the other wants it deactivated as it shouldn't be there in the Free version. This was a common problem with the AVG Free software - conflicting messages created by the marketing and technical teams. This is a bad trend as it just annoys customers and makes them less likely to recommend the product.

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #66 on: January 02, 2019, 08:47:24 PM »
As Avast and AVG are now one the same, not surprising we are getting same dross in both.
I still have this unwanted and unremovable "sensitive data" scan component on my XP rig, but not on my Win10 rig.
I follow others and just don't do Smart Scan on XP rig and am wary of it if I do Smart Scan at all on my Win10 rig.
Inconsistent software implementation is poor practice IMO and does not endear Avast to loyal users.
I guess we are stuck with it on XP now, considering v18 is last update for XP/Vista. Unless, as DougCuk suggests, it gets changed with definition updates.
The saga continues.
Ed

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #67 on: January 08, 2019, 10:26:30 AM »
Unwanted Sensitive Data scan has crept back into Smart Scan again.
(Just when I thought it was fixed in 2360. Must have been introduced by Defs update).
Sickening!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47036
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #68 on: January 08, 2019, 10:35:34 AM »
Unwanted Sensitive Data scan has crept back into Smart Scan again.
(Just when I thought it was fixed in 2360. Must have been introduced by Defs update).
Sickening!
Not something i can confirm ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline rocksteady

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #69 on: January 08, 2019, 11:05:34 AM »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47036
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #70 on: January 08, 2019, 11:22:37 AM »
Same issue reported here:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=221547.0
Ed
That post was started in August.
My screenshot was taken this morning after running the scan on the latest (19.1.2360 (build 19.1.4142.0) Free Version of Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86495
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #71 on: January 08, 2019, 04:19:03 PM »
Same issue reported here:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=221547.0
Ed
That post was started in August.
My screenshot was taken this morning after running the scan on the latest (19.1.2360 (build 19.1.4142.0) Free Version of Avast.

Snap no problem with Avast Free 19.1.2360 (build 19.1.4142.0) on my win10 system.  This was run just a few minutes ago and I only have two elements in my Smart Scan.

EDIT: Attached image
« Last Edit: January 08, 2019, 04:21:25 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DougCuk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #72 on: January 09, 2019, 12:30:32 AM »
I currently have 5 computers running Avast Free v19.1 - three of them show the Sensitive Data scan item in Smart Scan - and two do not. Of those showing the Sensitive Data scan item one is a clean install of v19.1 (Win7 system) the other two are updates from v18.8 (one Win7 & one Win10) - so I have to conclude that v19.1 has done nothing to fix this problem.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86495
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #73 on: January 09, 2019, 01:00:40 AM »
Well on the older versions of avast free I did get the hassle with the Sensitive Data scan being run, this on an old XP system avast! free 18.5.2342.

This issue goes back a few updates and and kept flip flopping back and forth with program updates and or VPS updates. However, on my win10 system no problem with the Smart Scan, using avast! free 19.1.2360, as in my previous post. This was a manual update from the UI not a clean install.

The real issue is the inconsistency of it, and why it doesn't effect everyone.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Zebb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Smart scan components differ from those selected
« Reply #74 on: January 09, 2019, 10:56:31 PM »
Hi, still no option to switch off sensitive data scan in 19.1.2360 (build 19.1.4142.0) free 64 bit Win 7 Home Prem. Laptop 32bit doesn't scan sensitive data, same Avast version. Submitted bug.