Author Topic: WinXP will not run the new May release avast  (Read 4634 times)

REDACTED

WinXP will not run the new May release avast
« on: May 20, 2018, 06:18:58 AM »
I have been running Avast free version for ~ 8 years mostly on XP platforms. After the last update it will no longer load and run.
I check task manager - no sign of avast.
I tried repairing it uninstalling it (both windows & Avast uninstallers) deleting it reinstalling it online and from standalone but it refuses to run/install properly.
So I decided to finally go to the opposition and downloaded AVG. As soon as it started to install I had to check that I had not mistakenly reloaded avast - sure enough it is almost identical now (apparently Avast recently acquired AVG). And no surprise it wont work either.
The only hint that all is not well is that when the installing progress line gets to ~ 95% a message pops up saying microsoft could not locate the bluetooth installer????  I dont have any bluetooth hardware installed - both AVG and Avast trigger this message.
I tried AvastRescue but there were an endless list of missing DLL's. I located & replaced all the missing ones but then it vomited a message about I think commui.dll with a load of characters that made no sense so I give up.
Am I alone here or is anyone else experiencing similar issues with XP ??  AVG/Avast

Offline chris..

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
Re: WinXP will not run the new May release avast
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 10:42:55 AM »
As far I'm concerned , I don't have any problems with XP and last update (no more for an other user DavidR)

But it seems that there has been since the last update a rising number of reports of this type of problem on XP : rather "UI fail to load" than no more avast services in use like for you.

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=219087.msg1461976#msg1461976
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=219142.0
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=219094.0

REDACTED