Author Topic: Sensitive Document Scan Issue  (Read 2561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« on: May 24, 2018, 01:00:04 AM »
Hi All.  I'm running Avast Free 18.4.3895.325 on a Win 7 Pro 64 computer.

I'm having two Scan Sensitive Document issues.  First, I can't find a way to turn it off.  I've Googled this and can find only ways to do this in the Pay For version, not the Free version.  I also searched settings and the like and no luck.

The second issue is after a Smart Scan it tells me it found one Sensitive Document  issue.  It prompts me to click on Resolve all, which I'm not going to do as I have no idea what the program will do.  But then, and here's the problem, I can no longer run a Smart Scan! All I can get is a Show Results button.  So to run another Smart Scan, my only option is to reboot the system.

How can I fix these two issues?

Thanks.


Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37644
  • F-Secure user
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 01:10:59 AM »
Quote
    It prompts me to click on Resolve all, which I'm not going to do as I have no idea what the program will do
Most likely it will take you to a place where you can buy some extra avast features/programs you probably don't want    ;)


Applies to Avast Premier, Avast Internet Security   https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Antivirus-Sensitive-Data-Shield-FAQ


« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 01:18:06 AM by Pondus »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89441
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 01:51:14 AM »
This has been previously reported.  The Sensitive Data component is for the Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security. 

The sensitive data scan shouldn't be able to run if that component isn't present in avast free then it can't be uninstalled, but it does bloody run in the Smart Scan as a hook to try and get you to purchase the Sensitive Data Protection. 

I rarely ever do on-demand scans including the Smart Scan other than beta testing and in response to topics on the forums.  I recently ran a smart scan and let it complete but it didn't find any sensitive data issues. 

This is meant to be fixed so the Sensitive Data component is for the Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security and would only be run in the smart scan for them and not in the free version.

The Smart Scan settings are also meant to be being redone so it is no longer has settings in two locations.

See this topic https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=219119.0.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2018, 02:42:00 AM »
Quote
    It prompts me to click on Resolve all, which I'm not going to do as I have no idea what the program will do
Most likely it will take you to a place where you can buy some extra avast features/programs you probably don't want    ;)


Applies to Avast Premier, Avast Internet Security   https://support.avast.com/en-ww/article/Antivirus-Sensitive-Data-Shield-FAQ
Yeah, that's one thing I'm 'afraid' of, LOL.

Offline TwoRails

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2018, 02:44:10 AM »
This has been previously reported.  The Sensitive Data component is for the Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security. 

The sensitive data scan shouldn't be able to run if that component isn't present in avast free then it can't be uninstalled, but it does bloody run in the Smart Scan as a hook to try and get you to purchase the Sensitive Data Protection. 

I rarely ever do on-demand scans including the Smart Scan other than beta testing and in response to topics on the forums.  I recently ran a smart scan and let it complete but it didn't find any sensitive data issues. 

This is meant to be fixed so the Sensitive Data component is for the Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security and would only be run in the smart scan for them and not in the free version.

The Smart Scan settings are also meant to be being redone so it is no longer has settings in two locations.

See this topic https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=219119.0.
Thanks for the tips and the link, DavidR.  I did do a search in the Forum using "sensitive" as the keyword but nothing came up.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89441
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2018, 10:05:09 AM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Happychappy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Re: Sensitive Document Scan Issue
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2018, 01:42:57 PM »
Just got this one of my laptops using Avast free.