Author Topic: Bank Mode.  (Read 459 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline snosaint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Bank Mode.
« on: May 30, 2018, 10:07:27 PM »
I  recently experienced the Windows 10 update conflict with avast AV and ended up losing alot needing a clean install of W10. Needless to say i am gun shy about installint Avast AV again.  I did reinstall the secure browser, but now find that if i want to use bank mode, it says i need to install it separately. When i click to install it want to install the antivirus.  Is that the only way Bank mode installs?   

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56270
  • Happy Holidays..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Bank Mode.
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2018, 06:57:22 AM »
Is that the only way Bank mode installs?
Yes.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.1.2357.Beta1 - CC 5.50 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.3 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.3.2 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline snosaint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bank Mode.
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2018, 01:48:38 PM »
Well thats too bad. I will need to find another browser for my sensitive info while i am looking at other AV products.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 56270
  • Happy Holidays..!!
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Bank Mode.
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2018, 02:08:22 PM »
Well, that's up to you.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast Premier 19.1.2357.Beta1 - CC 5.50 - MCS - EEK - FF ESR 60.3 [NS/AOS/uBO] - TB 60.3.2 [EM] - ACP/ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline snosaint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bank Mode.
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2018, 02:31:02 PM »
How insightful.

Offline ondrejz

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 262
Re: Bank Mode.
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2018, 12:28:49 PM »
Currently, browser itself can't provide you with such system level protection as Bank Mode is.

That's why it requires AV installed because AV uses system drivers to protect Bank Mode desktop.

We plan to move this protection to browser but it will take a lot of development and testing resources. There is high chance we will do it during this year but I cannot say it for sure.

Thanks for understanding