Author Topic: Kaspersky KAS6.0 vs AvastPro  (Read 2902 times)

ReneK

Kaspersky KAS6.0 vs AvastPro
« on: June 30, 2006, 10:43:38 AM »
Hello everyone,
Although I am new to this forum, I do pass by these pages on a daily basis.

Being a software programmer, I have recently conducted tests on Kaspersky and AvastPro which also include actually running the 2 on identical PC's.

Specs: PentiumD 3.00Ghz, 2GB RAM, 320GB SATA HDD (RAID 0), NVIDIA 256MB

They are both run on clean installs (XP PRO SP2 fully patched) and with Spysweeper 4.5 in recommended setting.

Here is the conclusion: Kaspersky (as we all now) does offer slightly better protection, but it comes at a terrible prize:

1. Unacceptable amount of STOP ERRORS both running and during BOOT (2-5 per day)
KAS6.0 performing better than KIS6.0 in that regard
2. Update problems (server overloads)
3. Hotfixes (should probably still be in BETA)
4. Slow and painfull wait for scans
5. General computer instability and freeze-ups
6. Extreme prizing

My advise folks, GO WITH AVAST!!
This AV works flawlessly and with such ease on CPU ressources!!
Don't even be tempted to try out Kaspersky, - it will be the beginning of a painful encounter ultimately ending in an uninstall ... mark my words  ;)

Thanks for your time,
ReneK

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Kaspersky KAS6.0 vs AvastPro
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2006, 01:46:32 PM »
Kaspersky (as we all now) does offer slightly better protection
Why? Let's talk about this  8)
The best things in life are free.

ReneK

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2006, 04:21:22 PM »
Kaspersky (as we all now) does offer slightly better protection
Why? Let's talk about this  8)

Sorry, my mistake Tech!
This was badly put.