Author Topic: Systemrequirementslab false positive?  (Read 3025 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Celestial Fire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« on: June 04, 2018, 09:32:11 PM »
For some reason I cannot use systemrequirementslab when avast is on. I have a feeling this is false positive. It is a webpage that allows you to test what kind of game you computer can run.

https://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2018, 09:41:01 PM »
Hi Celestial Fire,

Welcome.

Does Avast pop-up with a block toaster?  If so, please attach a screenshot in your next reply.

Urlquery says connection was interrupted - see:  http://urlquery.net/report/e2b79c7a-c26d-43a9-bd15-9607a248fecb
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline Celestial Fire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2018, 10:46:39 PM »

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2018, 11:05:21 PM »
Thank you for the screenshot.

URL:Mal block generally means site is blacklisted.  So, in order to get around the URL:Mal block you've been turning Avast WebShield off?

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=what+is+blacklisting+and+why+are+websites+blacklisted%3F&t=ffhp&ia=web
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline Celestial Fire

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2018, 11:14:16 PM »
Thank you for the screenshot.

URL:Mal block generally means site is blacklisted.  So, in order to get around the URL:Mal block you've been turning Avast WebShield off?

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=what+is+blacklisting+and+why+are+websites+blacklisted%3F&t=ffhp&ia=web

I turn AVAST protection off and the webpage seems to be working fine.
I have two computers. One computer with AVG antivirus. One computer with Avast.
Only Avast blocks. AVG does not block.

Just wondering if this is a special AVAST problem.
Or webpage is hacked and AVG cannot detect it.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2018, 12:59:46 AM »
Did you read to see why a website is blacklisted?

https://www.stopbadware.org/blog/2012/02/21/5-reasons-why-websites-are-hacked-and-blacklisted
Quote
Why do sites end up on blacklists?
Malicious hackers and automated bots infect websites with malicious computer code (i.e., web malware). Security companies, search engines, browser manufacturers, and others will prevent or deter users from visiting these compromised sites in order to protect those sites' visitors. Hacked websites may also be used to launch spam and phishing campaigns. For example, a compromised site might try to convince Internet users to visit a fake banking page, buy pharmaceuticals, or something similar. This can cause sites to be blacklisted, too.
So if avast blocks there is a reason why.  What that reason is, only Avast can say.

You can report a suspected false positive for a file or website here:  https://www.avast.com/false-positive-file-form.php
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1554
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2018, 07:28:29 AM »
Howdy, Just noticed this as well.  I've used systemrequirementlabs many times in the past and have found them to be rather safe. I find this to be a fp and hope avast reviews their mistake and corrects it, if not can you please at least explain why it was block?

From my knowledge the program they have you run only checks your PC's specs such as what graphics card you have, RAM, hard drive, and such needed to run a game. The website is very well helpful about what games you can or can not probably run on your computer.
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline bauerj

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: Systemrequirementslab false positive?
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2018, 09:50:45 AM »
Hi,
Blocking of systemrequirementslab[.]com was caused by an incorrect detection. I disabled it, so it should be OK after the next streaming update. We are sorry for caused problems. Thank You for reporting.
Jirka