Author Topic: Alert triggered by <iframe> tag  (Read 8570 times)

Howard Ballinger

Alert triggered by <iframe> tag
« on: July 02, 2006, 09:13:56 PM »
Hello, I'm an amateur webmaster and operate a mailing list for an organization. I just sent out an e-mail and when I got my own copy of it back, I got a warning of possible danger when the <iframe> tag -- which I'd just discovered and added to my HTML newsletter -- was detected.

The Avast! dialog had a 'permitted URL' button in it; I clcked that hoping that it would then allow content from my website without futher alarms; but the same alarm keeps popping up when I go to that message.

So here are my questions: (1) how can I let Avast! know that the URL in the frame is premitted? and (2) more generally, is the <iframe> tag not a good idea to use in an e-mail?

Thanks     -- Howard

Offline MikeBCda

• Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
Re: Alert triggered by <iframe> tag
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2006, 09:42:39 PM »
Hi,

As you've no doubt figured out for yourself, the "possible" danger is no more than that -- the same warning would be triggered by, e.g., any exe attachment as being in a suspicius category.  If there really was an infection involved, avast would sure as heck let you know.

I get those iframe warnings too, typically from Yahoo groups, and I unfortunately haven't yet found how to give "remembered" permission on the fly.  It's rarely clear what the originating URL is. so I've just resigned myself to hitting "Continue" each time if I'm sure it's OK.  And what the heck, if I'm wrong then avast will let me know.

Sorry if this isn't an awful lot of help.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2006, 09:57:39 PM »